tag

I Am The Reader | Tag

This tag is made by Whitney from WhittyNovels. You can see the original video here. This tag was based on the book The Reader by Traci Chee, which comes out on September 13th. The goodreads summary:

Sefia knows what it means to survive. After her father is brutally murdered, she flees into the wilderness with her aunt Nin, who teaches her to hunt, track, and steal. But when Nin is kidnapped, leaving Sefia completely alone, none of her survival skills can help her discover where Nin’s been taken, or if she’s even alive. The only clue to both her aunt’s disappearance and her father’s murder is the odd rectangular object her father left behind, an object she comes to realize is a book—a marvelous item unheard of in her otherwise illiterate society. With the help of this book, and the aid of a mysterious stranger with dark secrets of his own, Sefia sets out to rescue her aunt and find out what really happened the day her father was killed—and punish the people responsible.

Let’s get started!

Questions:
Choose 1 word that describes being a reader.

Adventure. Yeah I could have gone for something deep and meaningful like.. I don’t know life-changing? Enlightening? But adventure is why I am reading. Being able to go on an adventure and to meet people without having to get up from you chair? Sign me in. That you learn something on the way, great! But adventure is what brought me here in the first place.

What’s the very first book you fell in love with?

I completely skipped Twilight and Harry Potter phases when I was young. I did read a lot of books however, mostly contemporary. One of the series I grew up with is de “Hoe overleef ik…” series (How do I survive). It is a Dutch series from Francine Oomen that followed a girl from when she was about 12 to when she was about 16. Every book had a theme, the first book (I think) was called How do I survive my Holiday, and there were books like How do I survive my parents, How do I survive my first kiss, things like that. When I was about 15 I discovered YA books, but I still did not know that was a genre. I remember reading Tigerlily and Crossed, and I loved reading both.

Hardcover or paperback?

Paperback. I mean hardcovers can be very pretty, but I don’t really like dust jackets. I just like paperbacks because they’re smaller, easier to read and they’re cheaper.

How has reading shaped your identity?

I don’t know, I’ve been reading for such a long time, that imagining my life without books is almost impossible. But I think that through books I’ve become more open other people and got a bit more out of my comfort zone. I think I am able to express opinions better, because I got a lot of insight in how other people experience things.

What book do you read when you need to be comforted?

I don’t really have a comfort book, usually I watch Begin Again (the movie with Keira Knightly).

Who taught you to be a reader? (Or did you do it all on your own?)

Partially my parents, because they are also readers. Because they read, it was very naturally for me to keep reading. And partially myself, because I just kept going to the library. I also have to thank my library because they eventually started creating a YA section, which kept me reading.

Describe your dream reading lounge.

A gigantic library with comfy chairs and a skylight to look at the stars.

What book changed the way you act or see the world?

Every single book I read. Every book has changed a part of me and that is what makes it so amazing. But if I have to pick one book, it is Morgan Matson’s Since You’ve Been Gone. It has thought me that I have to get out of my comfort zone, and that it is okay to be shy and afraid as long as it doesn’t impede you to do the things you want to do.

I tag Debbie from Debbie’s Library, Rebecca from Staying Up Till Morning, Enqi from Pages Of Serenqipidy and Mara from Once Upon A Bind to do this tag. No pressure if you don’t want to do it, it’s okay too 🙂

6 thoughts on “I Am The Reader | Tag

  1. Thank you for tagging me! I certainly will be doing this, this will be my first tag. I also grew up reading the Hoe overleef ik… series as well, I really loved that series because they touched topics I could relate to.

    Liked by 1 person

Let me hear your thoughts!

