personal

Blogging update and my experience so far

I started writing for this blog about three months ago, and so far I have really enjoyed doing it. I’ve got in touch with some amazing other bloggers and started the Blogwarts House Cup I talked about last week.

Right now my life is very busy, with school, driving classes, photography club meetings, weekends at my parents house, birthday parties, the blogger’s house cup, etc, etc, I have not as much time as I want for writing. During the months that I wrote for my blog, I’ve been trying to keep to a regular schedule, in other words to post at regular times and not too far apart. But as you might have noticed, this did not work very well. I had a planning thing (which I lost) and so now I’m just improvising. During the first months it was quite easy to keep my schedule but since school has started, I have little time to work on posts and I don’t really like to write post in advance and let wordpress schedule it. I noticed in the past few weeks that I usually only have time on Tuesdays, Thursdays, Saturdays and Sundays, and that sometimes I post multiple blog posts on one day and then nothing for about three to four days.

But the one thing I’ve recently realized is: this is my blog. I can do whatever I want. I don’t have to do what others do, if I want to write about other things, I can. This also relates to my next point, which is reviews and letters. I have written some reviews in the past and also used to have this strict way of how I write them. Then I skipped to writing letters, and as you might have noticed I haven’t posted any lately. I still have some letters that I might upload here, but I don’t really feel the urge to write them anymore. I have some half-written letters, but then I just did not know how to continue. Therefore I have decided to stop for now. With that said, that doesn’t mean that I might not go back to writing these letters in the future. Maybe in the mean time, I’ll write some reviews, but only if I feel like it. Like I said, this is my blog and just because other book bloggers are doing reviews, it does not mean that I should too. If I’m honest I don’t even read a lot of reviews, because I’m just not really interested to read most of them. On the other hand I’ve been thinking about doing something like 5 Reasons I Loved *insert book name*.

The things I like to write most are the Top 10’s and Tags and in the future I am planning to write more about things other than books. I love books, but my life is more than just reading! I will try to write more about other things I love, such as psychology, movies, art, science, tv shows, music, photography, etc. For formatting I’m thinking about doing more lists (like the top 10 but then with my own topics), discussions and just things like I’m doing right now.

As you noticed, I’m still trying to figure out what direction I want to go with this blog. Did you also make some changes since you started blogging?

 

5 thoughts on “Blogging update and my experience so far

  1. I think it is a good thing that you are thinking about what you want to do with your blog, I’m still trying to figure that out as well. This is your blog and you can decide what you want to do with it, and most of all it has to be something you enjoy! 🙂 In my opinion writing a blog shouldn’t feel like a responsibility.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree! It should be a place where you can feel comfortable to talk about anything you want. And it should stay fun!
      It’s really hard to find out what you want with your blog, I’m probably going to change my mind and blog very often, but that doesn’t matter as long as I enjoy it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Yeah trying to a have a specific theme for a blog is hard (for me at least). I think I have a disclaimer either on my intro post or my about page, though. My blog will be a random assortment of half-baked ideas, poems and opinion pieces. Anyway, I’m sure we’ll enjoy reading whatever you decide to write about :D.

    Liked by 1 person

Let me hear your thoughts!

