review

Review of The Light Fantastic

review-headerThis week I read The Light Fantastic by Sarah Combs, a YA contemporary book that is not only very realistic but also quite scary.

Seven tightly interwoven narratives. Three harrowing hours28814848. One fateful day that changes everything.

Delaware, the morning of April 19. Senior Skip Day, and April Donovan’s eighteenth birthday. Four days after the Boston Marathon bombing, the country is still reeling, and April’s rare memory condition has her recounting all the tragedies that have cursed her birth month. And just what was that mysterious gathering under the bleachers about? Meanwhile, in Nebraska, Lincoln Evans struggles to pay attention in Honors English, distracted by the enigmatic presence of Laura Echols, capturer of his heart. His teacher tries to hold her class’s interest, but she can’t keep her mind off what Adrian George told her earlier. Over in Idaho, Phoebe is having second thoughts about the Plan mere hours before the start of a cross-country ploy led by an Internet savant known as the Mastermind. Is all her heartache worth the cost of the Assassins’ machinations? The Light Fantastic is a tense, shocking, and beautifully wrought exploration of the pain and pathos of a generation of teenagers on the brink—and the hope of moving from shame and isolation into the light of redemption.

Things I loved about The Light Fantastic

  1. This shouldn’t really count, but it’s definitely a plus. The cover. Look at that pretty cover! That was actually one of the main reason why I started reading this book. A book with such a pretty cover must be as pretty inside as well, right?
  2. Seven narrators interwoven in one story. Even though I didn’t really understand what role Sandra (the teacher) had in the whole story, but maybe I missed something. It was really interesting to see the things happening from all these different people’s views. My favourite povs were April and Lincoln.
  3. Everything is related. Even though it was sometimes a little bit too coincidental, it was really cool that the things some person was thinking about in one scene, someone else thought about in another scene. Also I love that some of the characters have a backstory together, even though they don’t even meet or talk in the book itself.
  4. It is shocking and scary. I don’t get scared easily. Send me through a dark forest at night and I won’t shake, give me a spider and I won’t even tremble. But this freaking book. It got to me. I started reading this book, while having no clue what it was actually about, because let’s be honest the blurb isn’t making things clearer. So when I found out what was going to happen I got really scared and I needed to continue reading even though I really should have stopped. The next day it got much better though because I wan’t scared anymore. But be warned, it is really tense and shocking.

Overall this book was pretty good, not amazing because some things were pretty vague and I didn’t like everybody’s pov, especially Gavin’s, he just didn’t make sense to me. But the writing was really good! The book was exiting, interesting and very tense and therefore I am giving this ★★★☆. I will recommend this to anyone who likes realistic stories about bad things that are happening and doesn’t get scared easily.

This book came out on September 16th and is available on Amazon and B&N (and probably a lot of other stores as well). I received this book to review by NetGalley and the publisher Candlewick Press, this did not influence my opinions.

Is this book on your TBR?

5 thoughts on “Review of The Light Fantastic

Let me hear your thoughts!

