personal · writing

Just me rambling about writing and NaNoWriMo

Brittany&books: NaNoWriMo Wrap up /Post Nano plans.

Do you have those nights in which you want to do everything at once? I’m having one of those nights. I want to go draw, read, write, think, work on a project, blog, and like ten other things. But I’m also just really tired and should go to bed. So now I’m just here typing on my laptop, not doing any of these things.

Anyway, I’ve been reading a lot on blogs about people wanting to do NaNoWriMo, National Novel Writing Month, whcih is in November. (What a name, how can you remember that? I was talking about it with my friend yesterday and I was like “Nanino.. Nanowri.. Nonaw.. Whatever, you know what I mean.”) And I really think that doing that is really cool, it is definitely something that I want to do in my life, at least once. But you know, when? I am always busy with school, and I know that in the next couple of years I will still be busy. Will I ever not be busy? Probably not. So then I’m thinking, why not now? I have an idea (see the sunshine bloggers award post), but I don’t even know how to do it. I have never written a story that is longer than 10 pages, and 50.000 words is a lot! How on earth could I do that, in one month? And still continue blogging and do my school work and everything. I don’t want to compromise! That would probably mean no sleep for a month.

Maybe I should do a similar thing but than on a smaller scale, writing a book is something for the future. Let’s start with short stories. Write a short story a week, that should be feasible right? According to wikipedia a short story is between 1.000 and 20.000 words. A thousand words a week is definitely doable. It could be a collaborative thing. Does anyone want to write along with me? Share stories, ideas, tips and help each other out? Let’s call it the Not-So-Very-National-Short-Story-Writing-Month, the NoSoVeNaShoStoWriMo haha to make it even more complicated.

Have you ever considered doing NaNoWriMo? Or did you actually participate or are you going to this November? And do you want to participate in my Not-So-Very-National-Short-Story-Writing-Month? If you do, please let me know and if there are more people I can try to make it something somewhat professional.

10 thoughts on “Just me rambling about writing and NaNoWriMo

  1. I also just recently heard about NaNoWriMo and I will be participating in it this November for the first time. So I’m trying to pre-write blogs which I have scheduled and I plan to get most of my assignment for internship done in October. But, for me, participating in NaNoWriMo doesn’t mean that I will shove everything aside for it, if I won’t make the 50.000 words, so be it, at least I tried.
    And I would love to participate in NoSoVeNaShoStoWriMo!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve done NaNoWriMo YWP once and CampNaNo twice, and won all three, but the highest word count goal was 35000. I’ll do NaNoWriMo for reals this year, but if I win I win and if I lose I lose. I’m drowning in school work right now, so I honestly don’t expect more than 10K. I’m only doing it for the community, and I’ll enjoy that no matter what! I’d love to join you in your short story month! I think it would be really fun to get a writing group of sorts started!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. What are NaNoWriMo YWP and CampNaNo? I’ve never heard of it. I’m new to all of it and I’ve only heard of NaNoWriMo because others told me about it. Good luck on writing!
      Welcome to my little short story writing club ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Let me hear your thoughts!

