psychology

Hogwarts Houses & Personality: Where do I belong??

harry-potter-house-logos-2

I was always certain which Hogwarts house I belonged to, but then when I thought a little harder about it, I wasn’t that certain anymore. Even the result of the Pottermore test was against my beliefs. According to Pottermore, I was a Gryffindor. I have never ever thought of myself as a Gryffindor.

For once and for all I wanted to know my house, so I did another test, one that actually gives you how well you fit with a house in percentages. My results were: 61% Ravenclaw, 53% Hufflepuff, 43% Slytherin and 33% Gryffindor! So it turns out I was right all along, I am not a Gryffindor. But I fit quite well with the other houses. It also gives this fancy graph:

capture2

You can find the test here.

I can’t help but wonder whether J.K. Rowling has studied personality, because the four houses represent four very distinct personality types. The houses have their own personality traits, which are tendencies to behave in a certain way that remain constant over time.

There are many personality theories in psychology but one of the most well-known, beside the Briggs-Meyer personality types and the introvertism-extravertism spectrum, is the Five-Factor Model. This model proposes five trait categories: openness, conscientiousness, extraversion, agreeableness, and neuroticism (it spells OCEAN, I didn’t even knew that!).

I am now going to see if I can fit the model to the four houses. Let’s first repeat the traits of the houses.

  • Gryffindors are known to be brave, chivalrous, daring, confident, valiant, and courageous.
  • Hufflepuffs are know to be loyal, tolerating, patient, hard working, friendly, and dedicated.
  • Ravenclaws are known to be wise, intellectual, clever, sharp-minded, logical and creative.
  • Slytherins are known to be cunning, determined, ambitious, resourceful, innovative and accomplished.

As you see these traits do not fit perfectly in the model, but I’m going to try to fit it anyway.

hh+traits.JPG

As you can see in my table, there are some traits that are more important in each of the houses (I coloured these). I had a bit trouble fitting Slytherin in the model, but I tried my best. And to see whether this model will give me a better result I tried another test. The results of this test were that I score relatively high on openness, conscientiousness, and agreeableness, and I score relatively low on extraversion and neuroticism. Funny, these are actually exactly the results I expected to have.

I’m now going to do some weird math to score my traits (+1 for each trait that matches, -1 for each trait that doesn’t match, and double for each major trait)

hhtraits-result

So what can I conclude: I am a Ravenclaw. Just like I secretly expected to be and like the other test said as well. But there are also major differences. My model shows that I am not at all a Slytherin, and that I am slightly fitting in Gryffindor and Hufflepuff. I knew about the Hufflepuff thing, but I just did all this because I thought I wasn’t a Gryffindor! Maybe I should accept that I am a little bit Gryffindor on the inside.

Sorting hat, you sorted me wrong, I am a proud Ravenclaw (or maybe a Huffleclaw!). Sorry fellow Gryffindrafts, I don’t actually belong there, but consider me your secret weapon 🙂 (I’m still super proud to be a Gryffindraft though)

Also I think the fact that I took all this trouble just to find out what house I belong to proves that I belong in Ravenclaw lol

What is your Hogwarts house? Have you tried my model? If there’s anything I can improve, please let me know!

19 thoughts on “Hogwarts Houses & Personality: Where do I belong??

    1. Those tests are not always making sense.. I wanted to redo the pottermore test to see if I would get a different result, but sadly that’s not possible

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’ve done tests online, as they’re everywhere. Though that’s where I generally get hufflepuff or Ravenclaw! I got Ravenclaw on the pottermore website, I wish I could retake it and see if anything has changed!

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I got Ravenclaw on the Pottermore test, which is totally accurate!!! But then I took other tests, and got predominately Slytherin, closely followed by Ravenclaw… SO… I am now a proud Slytherclaw because I definitely can see the Slytherin side in my writing! I’m a total psychology nerd, so I’ve looked into the house personality types before, but I didn’t go to near the trouble that you did to graph it all out! You are most definitely a Ravenclaw! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It would be really confusing if you were really sorted because there are a lot of people that do not fit the stereotypical houses, but luckily we don’t have to pick one house and can just be whoever we want to be 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m a Gryffindor, which I agree with and haven taken a few tests and have only ever got Gryffindor.. I tried to take the test that you linked to, but I answer all the questions and got the end and it asked the ‘prove you’re not a robot’ thing where you have to type the letters you see but the image wouldn’t come up! So I wasn’t going to do the whole thing again.. Silly thing!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m a Slytherin and always felt pretty Slytherin. I too hypothesized that Hogwarts archetypes were based off the MBTI scale with the four temperaments equivalent to the four houses. (Gryffindor=SP, Ravenclaw=NF, Slytherin=NT, and Hufflepuff=SJ.) Though, that is simply with regard to archetypes and there are deviations within the houses themselves. I have never seen this particular scale before, though it does make sense. I really wonder how JK comes up with the sorting rules, though.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I took the 126 question test and I got like 65% Ravenclaw. I never took the official test but I’ve always known myself to be a Ravenclaw (to prove it I own a “Proud to be a Ravenclaw” shirt. Thanks for the recommended test Lia,

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re welcome! I’m happy you found your house. I don’t trust pottermore with my tests anymore, because it also said I’m in Pukwudgie (the Ilvermorny house) and I don’t think that’s true either.

      Like

Let me hear your thoughts!

