review

My endless pet peeves in The Reader – A review

review-header

You should probably know how many times I put this book away in frustration, and then picked it up ten minutes later, because it’s addictive. Don’t get me wrong it is not a bad book, not really. But there are so so so so so so many pet peeves (things that  I don’t like, things that annoy me, things that are over-done or way too cliche).

Hunted, shot, and without her memory, eighteen-year-old Ann Baker wakes in 31327668shallow water on a deserted Pacific Northwest island. She is soon approached by two young men claiming to be her friends. Something isn’t right, but when gunshots sound, Ann is left with little choice but to allow Devon and Archer to help her escape. Soon she finds herself in their North Bend mountain compound, where the higher evolved humans claim to be mind-readers. While Ann heals, she realizes they believe her to be one of the last and most powerful of all – The Lost One.

She’s welcomed by most with opened arms, but not everyone is happy about her arrival. A jealous adversary has plans for Ann, which spirals the entire Reader community into chaos.

As lies, murder, and betrayal threaten to rip apart the once harmonious mountain dwellers, Ann is thrust into making a decision that could save or devastate not only The Readers, but all of mankind. But there’s just one glitch: by doing so it may require her to make the ultimate sacrifice.

If you are planning on reading this book, you should stop here because I am going to spoil everything. I just need to write down what I thought was wrong in this book, and if you read it, you’ll probably know the entire story.

What bothered me about The Reader my M.K. Harkins:

  • There are two guys (I thought they were brothers but I’m not sure anymore), one of them is all light, with blonde hair and smiles and kindness, and the other one is dark, dark hair and grumpiness and arrogance. Haven’t heard this before, right?
  • And that is where the next pet peeve begins, she falls for both. And they both fall for her. And you know what, that isn’t even the ending, this little love triangle develops into a love tetrahedron (that what I called it), because there is a third love interest! *sigh*
  • Of course the main character Ann knows about the “Chosen One”, or the “Lost One” as called in this book, but this couldn’t be her, right? She only has these weird abilities no-one else has, that isn’t suspicious at all.
  • Ann has amnesia, which is of course very unfortunate, because she knows nothing about everything. It is a great idea therefore, to just run off, and not let anyone know what you’re doing or let anyone help you. You’ve got friends who want to help you, let them!
  • Ann is of course very plain, at least that what she thinks. But you know every single person with eyes would say she is absolutely stunning. I’ve heard this way too often, where are the plain girls, who actually are plain?! (and why on earth is every single person in this book beautiful???)
  • She can suddenly do the weirdest random things, she can fight like a samurai, steal cars and wire them. What the hell? (Okay it is explained later, but still)
  • She overcomes her fears when it’s convenient. Of course she was terrified when she rode into a tunnel with the car (because she’s claustrophobic), and she jumped on a chair and screamed when she sees a mouse, but when you’re trying to escape you forget all that, right? Climbing through vents with rodents isn’t that scary.
  • The bad guy turns out to be not that bad, and the good guy is actually the villain. I have heard this so many times, it didn’t even surprise me anymore.
  • She finds her “soulmate” and they kiss and they “bond” and now he means the world to her. They only are together for like a day and she would literally kill herself for him. A little too dramatic  *cringe*
  • The world is all black and white. All the bad guys (aka the Jacks) are evil, and of course they want to kill the Readers, so now we can just kill them all, right?

I don’t know who the girl on the cover is, but it’s not Ann. Ann had brown eyes, and brown hair and this girl most certainly doesn’t. /edit/ I would like to clarify that she did actually have blue eyes, so the cover isn’t that far off. Sorry for the confusion. /edit/

I’m now going to be a bit more serious, no more sarcasm 😉
I am giving this book a rating of ★★☆ (2.5 stars out of 5) because it was actually a pretty good read. The story was engaging and the characters okay, the writing was good. But all the things said above ruined it for me. I don’t understand why this book has a 4+ star rating on goodreads and every single review I’ve seen there is super positive. I didn’t like Ann that much, and I thought she was reckless and made some stupid mistakes, she was impulsive and not really funny (even though someone said this about her in the book). I honestly don’t know to whom I would recommend this book, but if you liked the blurb I would say give it a go.

What is your most annoying pet peeve? Would you read this book?

8 thoughts on “My endless pet peeves in The Reader – A review

Let me hear your thoughts!

