scribbled scenes · writing

Scribbled Scenes November #3: That’s Not What I Said

“That’s not what I said.”

“Yes it is,” he says flirtatiously. “You are in love with me.” His voice is cheeky with a hint of excitement.

I try to keep my voice low and angry but my face reveals my true emotions, “I am not! You are!”. A large smile grows on both our faces as he grabs my hand and squeezes slightly.

Suddenly all I want is to kiss him, but I don’t. Not here. Not where everybody can see us. We’re almost at my house and I can already see my neighbour mowing her lawn. Mrs. Pallice is always busy in her garden, if she isn’t busy gossiping with everybody that walks past her prized rose-garden.

His eyes are fixed on mine as he says slowly, “what if I said I am?”

“So what you’re saying is, you are in love with…” I let out a laugh, “yourself?”

With my hand still in his, he drags me to the small park on the opposite side of the street. I used to play there with all the kids of the neighbourhood on the swings, but right now it is empty. I can do nothing but stumble behind him in a way of moving that is a mix of running and skipping.

“No, with the prettiest girl in the entire town, I mean” he says seriously, “no wait, I am in love with the prettiest girl in the entire universe!” The last words are at a sound level that would be considered yelling.

Pretending I don’t know what he’s talking about I say, “the prettiest girl, hmm.. Is that Beyoncé?”

And then our lips touch in a soft whirlwind of insecurity and lust. When we move apart, only half an inch of space between us, he whispers “No, I mean you, you little monkey.” And then we’re one again.

Let me hear your thoughts!

