this months best books

Best Reads of… October

It’s already a week into November so this post is a bit late. Anyway it’s here! I’ve got like 20 minutes before I have to go so this is going to be a quick and short post.

Every month I pick three books based on three categories: Most addicting, Most original and Most surprising. In October I read a total of 12 books and wrote a total of 45 (ish because wordpress keeps getting stuck and I can’t count that way) blog posts. And these were my favourites:

Most Addicting

28686840This one definitely goes to Holding Up The Universe by Jennifer Niven. I read this entire book in one day and it was wonderful. Read my review here.

 

 

 

 

 

Most Original

30376044A Mortal Song by Megan Crewe is one of the most original books I’ve read this month. It has Kami (which are Japanese spirit people) and trolls and ghosts and things I’ve never even heard of, and the main character turns out not to be the “chosen one” which is kinda refreshing for once. My review is here.

Most Surprising

28814848The Light Fantastic by Sarah Combs isn’t super surprising in itself but, because I have the tendency not to read synopses before I start reading a book, I expected something completely different. I thought this was going to be a happy contemporary book and it wasn’t very happy and frankly quite scary. Read my review here.

 

 

 

 

 

It is actually very coincidental because I read those books in the same week.

My favourite posts of this month were: Diversity in real life & in booksTop Ten Tuesday | Names for pets (includes cute pictures of animals!)Hogwarts Houses & Personality: Where do I belong??Introversion & why it is not the same as being shy!

How was your October and which books would you give your “awards”?

Let me hear your thoughts!

