review

Infinity (#1) by Jus Accardo| Review

Infinity by Jus Accardo is the story of Kori, a rebellious teenager with a love for art. When her father goes away for his work, she is left with two “protectors”, Cade and Noah. The one extremely handsome, the other extremely annoying. But when they don’t want to tell her why they are actually there, she takes matters into her own hands.

review-header

There are three things Kori knows for sure about her life:28220742

One: Her army general dad is insanely overprotective.

Two: The guy he sent to watch her, Cade, is way too good-looking.

Three: Everything she knew was a lie.

Now there are three things Kori never knew about her life:

One: There’s a device that allows her to jump dimensions.

Two: Cade’s got a lethal secret.

Three: Someone wants her dead.

There were things I liked and there were things I didn’t like about this book, and I don’t know which overruled the other.

At the beginning you get introduced to Kori, whose mother died and whose father is in the army. The one thing she loves to do is paint, so she paints graffiti all over town. She is quite a cool character, she is extremely brave, can fight and is really bad-ass. But on the other hand I found her to be really annoying and she had really a strong opinion and was determined to let it be heard.

I’m not a damsel in distress. I don’t need saving. I don’t want it. And I don’t want you.

But the thing that put me off the most about Kori is her honesty. She is brutally honest. Sometimes I found myself staring at her words and think: “You cannot say that, that’s just mean.” And oh my god she has anger issues! Seriously the littlest things could make her scream in anger.

There’s a part of the story which is basically only Kori not knowing what’s going on and the boys not wanting to tell her, which leads to a lot of bickering and yelling. And it’s just kinda annoying because I hate being left in the dark and it was like an endless cycle of her asking what’s going on and the boys saying it’s classified.

After that they are looking for people, and I don’t know what you do when you look for people, but the first thing I do is go on the internet. Just go to facebook type in their name and see what comes out. But of course they didn’t. I checked, they talked about the internet, so it’s not like the book takes place in a world without it.

However the story was quite good, the romance was interesting and the relationships between all the characters was well-done. It was just the characters that annoyed me. Not just Kori, but the others as well. They had a reason for acting the way they do but that doesn’t mean I liked it. Noah was, I think, my favourite character mainly because he thought Kori was, and I quote, “annoying as shit”, but on the other hand he was also very grumpy. The antagonist of the story was a bit unreasonably evil, if I can say it like that? He had a reason for acting, but his ways were a bit extreme.

I am giving this book ★★★ (out of 5 stars), because even though the story was enjoyable the characters just weren’t my thing. This is the first book in a series, but I don’t think I will be continuing with the series. However, if you like sci-fi with dimensional travelling and complex characters (and you don’t mind them bickering all the time), I would recommend this book to you.

One thought on “Infinity (#1) by Jus Accardo| Review

Let me hear your thoughts!

