buddy reading · collab · review

Buddy Review | Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares with Eve and Lucy

Guess what, I’m going to post today after all!

Together with Eve and Lucy, I read Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares and it is a lovely, very cute and funny book, which is perfect for Christmas and winter time! You can read the rest of this review on Eve’s blog and Lucy’s blog.

“I’ve left some clues for you.7741325
If you want them, turn the page.
If you don’t, put the book back on the shelf, please.”

So begins the latest whirlwind romance from the bestselling authors of Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist. Lily has left a red notebook full of challenges on a favorite bookstore shelf, waiting for just the right guy to come along and accept its dares. But is Dash that right guy? Or are Dash and Lily only destined to trade dares, dreams, and desires in the notebook they pass back and forth at locations across New York? Could their in-person selves possibly connect as well as their notebook versions? Or will they be a comic mismatch of disastrous proportions?

Rachel Cohn and David Levithan have written a love story that will have readers perusing bookstore shelves, looking and longing for a love (and a red notebook) of their own.

Do you like the main character(s) and why?

Lu: I really liked Dash, I loved his extensive vocabulary and how he wasn’t as reserved by the end of the book. I liked Lily, despite her being a bit sorry for herself through the book, she was really fun and unique, and had a positive feeling about her.

Eve: Yes I did! I found I connected to Lily far more; although I liked Dash too he felt a bit pretentious and disconnected from me, idk.

Lia: Both characters were so much fun to read about, they were (like I said in Eve’s post) so unique and quirky!

Do you like the cover?

Lu: I don’t know what covers you have, but I love the New York street sign cover that I have with all of the street lights, buildings and falling snow. I think it shows loads of the story on it.

Eve: I have the blue edition with the silhouette of NYC. It’s quite a nice cover, but there’s nothing Christmassy on it at all which makes me sad! I think I prefer some of the other ones I’ve looked up haha.

Lia: I like the cover but it’s not amazing, I think it’s a bit busy. I like how it looks very winter-ish and reminds you of big cities.

My (mini) Review

This book was so enjoyable to read, it got me in a very festive mood, even though it isn’t even December yet. Usually I am not really a Christmas type of person, I mean I like snow and Christmas trees and lights and things like that, but I don’t really enjoy the family get-togethers. Also, usually I am so busy with school that only when Christmas break starts I get this sudden awareness that it is almost Christmas, and then when it is over I start listening to Christmas music because I hadn’t had time before! But this book changed that and I have been in the Christmas mood for weeks!

The characters were lovely and quirky and they got me laughing out loud a lot of times. The book left me wanting more, because the end was so sudden (probably because I wasn’t keeping track of where I was in the book). So I started reading the next book almost immediately (as in I started two days ago and am almost finished). The second book Twelve Days of Dash & Lily, is almost equally cute and funny. But, I have to say, I didn’t like the beginning that much. Twelve Days is set a year after the first book and a lot has happened in those months, and not just good things. It made me sad that the characters weren’t as happy as in the first book. A plus is, I think, that Dash was a little less mister know-it-all and pretentious. I will finish the book tonight (as in I’ll read it right away). There will be no separate review for this book.

I rate Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares ★★★★☆ (4.5 stars out of 5 stars)! I recommend this book to anyone who loves Christmas and cute contemporary YA books.

I hope you liked this review and check out Eve’s and Lucy’s blogs because they are both super nice and amazing bloggers! Have you read this book/these books?

16 thoughts on “Buddy Review | Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares with Eve and Lucy

  1. I love your mini review! I’m planning to read The 12 Days Of Dash and Lily as soon as I can because I can’t wait for Christmas – I need to know what happens, ahah!!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I loved that part too, I think one of my favourite parts was when Dash was dressing up as Santa and leaving all the clues for Lily!

        Liked by 1 person

Let me hear your thoughts!

