review

Radio Silence review (full on 5 stars!)

You might have noticed from the excessive updating on goodreads, that I really enjoyed this book. Radio Silence by Alice Oseman was recommended to me by Eve from Twist in the Taile and I will be eternally grateful for that! The book was sent to me by SocialBookCo to review, but my opinion is all my own!

Radio Silence by Alice Oseman

What if everything you set yourself up to be was wrong?25322449

Frances has always been a study machine with one goal, elite university. Nothing will stand in her way; not friends, not a guilty secret – not even the person she is on the inside. Then Frances meets Aled, and for the first time she’s unafraid to be herself.

So when fragile trust between them is broken. Caught between who she was and who she longs to be. Now she knows that she has to confront her past. To confess why Carys disappeared…

Frances is going to need every bit of courage she has.

(The goodreads synopsis spoils too much so I have decided to include the one on the back cover of the book)

I was in a bit of a slump when I started this book. I was still trying to get through Emma by Jane Austen (which I now DNF’ed), and it was such a relief to get really into a book that I loved! I just didn’t want to go back to Emma anymore after this!

The story is about Frances, who is the nerd of the school. She has always wanted to go to Cambridge and study literature. But School Frances is not the real Frances. I have grown over that phase, but I used to be like Frances a lot, only appreciated because she’s smart, and nobody knowing who the “real” Frances is. In her free time she is obsessed with the youtube podcast Universe City. She secretly draws all her favourite characters and has been listening to it for years. Frances is definitely one of the my favourite characters of all time. At page 9 when she said: “I’m well-practiced in the art of bullshitting.” I already knew I was going to love her. And comments like: “Don’t be dead. That would really ruin my day.” and “Girl, why are you crying?” “I’m not… Well on the inside maybe” only made me love her more. She’s quirky and even though at school she’s “boring”, she says what she thinks, which is usually really funny. I don’t understand why she barely has any friends. I would love to be her friend!

When Frances meets Aled she learns to be herself, she finds a friend that loves her for who she is. Their friendship is amazing, I ship them in a “best friend forever” type of way. I loved that they had a boy / girl friendship that didn’t result in them being in love. That is used so often, that people start to believe that it actually is impossible to be friends with someone from the opposite sex.

Other notable characters are Carys (Aled’s twin sister), Raine, Daniel (Aled’s best friend), Aled’s mom and Frances’ mom. Frances’ mom is seriously the most wonderful mother ever. She’s amazing. If you’ve read this book you probably know which character I absolutely hate, they’re just so awful, HOW COULD THEY? (sorry no spoilers!)

The book isn’t all rainbows and friendship, there’s a lot of shitty things going on as well. Aled’s twin sister has disappeared a year ago and he isn’t taking it well. Frances has friends but they don’t really care for her. Trust is shattered and hearts are broken. There were parts in the book, when things went sideways, that I felt so sad for the characters. I just wanted them to be happy!

Another thing that I loved about the book was that the characters were really diverse. There were POC characters: Frances’ is party Ethiopian and Daniel is Asian (don’t remember which country). But what I thought was most important was that there were lots of LGTBQIA characters, there was a gay character, a bisexual character, a demisexual / asexual character. Especially that last one was important to me, I am dying to read books with ace representation. If you know any book (preferably YA) written from the perspective of an asexual character, I would love to hear about it!

The writing style of this book is simple, but very effective. It feels like you are really in the head of Frances. What drives this book is the conversations and the thoughts Frances has. She is very relatable! Once you’ve started there’s no stopping in reading. I read one night and got through half the book before I even noticed it! It’s addicting.

He smiled and looked away. “Sometimes I think we’re the same person… But we got accidentally split into two when we were born.”
“Why?”
“Because you’re literally me, but with all of the trash cleared away.”
I snorted. “Under the trash… There’s just more trash. We’re trash to the bone.”
“Ah,” he said. “The title of my debut rap album.” – p. 310

When I finished the book, all I could do was stare into empty space, breathe and try to keep in my tears. I haven’t had that feeling for a long while, but that is definitely something that indicates how much I loved the book.

I haven’t even mentioned that cover yet, it’s stunning!

I am giving this book a very well deserved ★★★★★ (five stars), because it was amazing. The characters were wonderful, the story gripping and because of the diverse representation (which is so important!). If I could, I would have given it more than five stars! I would recommend this book to anyone (really anyone), but particularly if you want to read more diverse books or if you love to read great conversations. Also if you feel like you connect to Frances (because to be honest who wouldn’t), you should definitely read this book!

If you’re interested in buying this book, definitely check out the link below. This links to SocialBookCo, which is a price comparison website for books, so you can find the best price for this amazing book. The website also shows you the delivery costs per store.

Order your copy of Radio Silence here.

 

9 thoughts on “Radio Silence review (full on 5 stars!)

Let me hear your thoughts!

