down the TBR hole · Uncategorized

Down the TBR Hole #5

This is week five of Down The TBR Hole, which a meme hosted by yours truly here on Lost In A Story.

Most of you probably know this feeling, your Goodreads TBR pile keeps growing and growing and it seems like there is no light at the end of the tunnel. You keep adding, but you add more than you actually read. And then when you’re scrolling through your list, you realize that you have no idea what half the books are about and why you added them. Well that’s going to change!

It works like this:

  • Go to your goodreads to-read shelf.
  • Order on ascending date added.
  • Take the first 5 (or 10 if you’re feeling adventurous) books. Of course if you do this weekly, you start where you left off the last time.
  • Read the synopses of the books
  • Decide: keep it or should it go?

The Books:

King’s Cage – Victoria Aveyard

I have read the first two books in this series, I loved Red Queen and I quite liked Glass Sword (even though it was annoying sometimes). I am hoping that King’s Cage will be better. Also I can’t wait to know what happens after this cliffhanger! Victoria is so good at plot twists and cliffhangers.

The Judgement: KEEP

 

 

 

Untitled – Victoria Aveyard

This is the fourth book in the Red Queen series. It doesn’t even have a title or cover yet, so maybe I should first read King’s Cage and make up my mind whether I should continue or not. So for now..

The Judgement: GO

Cruel Crown – Victoria Aveyard

Yeah, another Victoria Aveyard book… This is the companion novel containing two stories: Queen Song about queen Coriane and Steel Scars about Farley. I have downloaded the audiobook a while ago but I haven’t read it yet, and I don’t know whether I should. The reviews are kinda in the middle, they’re not really positive.

The Judgement: GO

 

 

 

These Broken Stars – Amie Kaufman & Meagan Spooner

This is the first book in the Starbound trilogy, and I have heard a lot about this series. But now that I’m reading through the synopsis, it really doesn’t sound interesting. I don’t know, there are only characters introduced and that is all. Also the fact that the major plot is a love story, doesn’t really make me want to read it. The cover is stunning though!

The Judgement: GO

 

 

When You Reach Me – Rebecca Stead

I really don’t know why or when I put this on my TBR, maybe I borrowed it from the library but never read it? It does have really good reviews, but I think it’s middle grade and it doesn’t really sound that interesting. Just another contemporary read that I will probably never pick up.

The Judgement: GO

Wow I have deleted 4/5 books from my tbr this week, what a good week! Send me your links if you’ve done this (or link me to your post!). Did you read any of these books, did I make the right decisions?

11 thoughts on “Down the TBR Hole #5

    1. Thank you! I thought it was a trilogy too but then suddenly there was a fourth book on goodreads, so I guess it’s going to be a four-part series (or possibly more?)

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Wow, good job on your list this week! I only got 1/5 on mine for this week (post isn’t published yet, I just finished writing it and SIGH). Funny though, I just finished reading Red Queen this week and decided against reading any of the sequels/prequels. I HATE MARE. Haha. Cal is sweet, and Farley is extremely intriguing, but I just can’t get behind Mare at all.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you haha! 1/5 is still one book, so that’s great!
      I have very mixed feelings about Mare, I liked her in the first book, but not so much in the second. The story is great though and I love the other characters.

      Like

  2. I have read These Broken Stars and I was not the biggest fan of it. The cover is absolutely stunning, but I found it to be a very repetitive and slow process. It had it’s high points, but there was also some very low points. I was not really hooked on the boom tell about the last 80 ish pages. I believe I gave it a 3 out of 5 stars.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am happy I removed it from my TBR then! I was really doubtful because I’ve heard good things about it, and who doesn’t want a pretty cover like that on their shelves??

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I think Red Queen was really good! It has a great story line and the plot twist is sooo good! But I did hear some people didn’t like it, so I guess you’ll have to try to find out?

      Liked by 1 person

Let me hear your thoughts!

