review

(mini) review of Fangirl

I read Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell pretty much entirely yesterday (over 300 pages), which was quite lovely. It was a very enjoyable read, however there were a few things I didn’t like, mainly about the characters.

A coming-of-age tale of fan fiction, family and first love.

Cath is a Simon Snow fan.
Okay, the whole world is a Simon Snow fan…

But for Cath, being a fan is her life—and she’s really good at it. She and her twin sister, Wren, ensconced themselves in the Simon Snow series when they were just kids; it’s what got them through their mother leaving.
Reading. Rereading. Hanging out in Simon Snow forums, writing Simon Snow fan fiction, dressing up like the characters for every movie premiere.

Cath’s sister has mostly grown away from fandom, but Cath can’t let go. She doesn’t want to.
Now that they’re going to college, Wren has told Cath she doesn’t want to be roommates. Cath is on her own, completely outside of her comfort zone. She’s got a surly roommate with a charming, always-around boyfriend, a fiction-writing professor who thinks fan fiction is the end of the civilized world, a handsome classmate who only wants to talk about words… And she can’t stop worrying about her dad, who’s loving and fragile and has never really been alone.
For Cath, the question is: Can she do this?
Can she make it without Wren holding her hand? Is she ready to start living her own life? Writing her own stories?

And does she even want to move on if it means leaving Simon Snow behind?

**SPOILERS**

Unpopular opinion alert: I didn’t like Levi. I mean, he acted pretty shitty, you just don’t kiss someone else after sleeping with her! That is not okay. He kind of made up for it, but if you ask me, Cath should have ended up with someone else.

**end of SPOILERS**

I think Nick should have been forgiven. Okay he did something shady, but it is way less bad than the thing Levi did. And still they act like he is a terrible person.

And I didn’t like Simon Snow, it felt like a huge rip-off from Harry Potter. You could basically map the characters one to one. Simon = Harry, Penelope = Hermione, Agatha = Ron??, Baz = Draco, headmaster = Dumbledore, etc. So I don’t think I’ll be reading Carry On.

I think Wren is a horrible sister for the most part, and Cath should get herself together and do something more with her life than typing fanfiction. Cath grew on me though.

When reading this book, I switched my opinion from 3.5 to 3 to 4 to 3.5 to 3 to 4 stars and on and on. I was feeling so confused about what my opinion was. I am giving this book 3.5 stars because even though there were a lot of things I didn’t like, I really enjoyed reading it for the most part.

Did you read this book? What is your opinion, do you (dis)agree?

24 thoughts on “(mini) review of Fangirl

  1. YES SOMEONE ELSE THAT DOESNT LIKE LEVI! Thank you! I didn’t find the appeal for him at all. He had some of my biggest turn offs when it comes to guys like smoking and partying and such. I did enjoy the story for the most part, but I didn’t think it was the best book ever written ☺️

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree! Exactly! I’m glad I’m not the only one that doesn’t like Levi, I’ve been hearing about so many people shipping them together that I thought I was weird for not liking him 🙂

      Like

  2. I can see where you’re coming from on a lot of this at least, but I still generally disagree with you because this is my personal favorite book. I see myself in Cath a lot, which is a little scary at times, and Levi to me can pretty much do no wrong. But again, I do see where you’re coming from with that. I do think you were a little quick to judge with the Simon Snow characters, and you definitely should read Carry On. It’s one of my other all time favorites, and Rainbow Rowell did say that she was trying to draw the parallel between Harry Potter and Simon Snow to be almost TOO exaggerated in it’s mentions in Fangirl, but changes a lot of things in Carry On. If anything, you should definitely read it just for fun and try and keep your opinions from Fangirl separate from your experience reading Carry On otherwise it’ll ruin it for you, but I personally just think it’s a really fun read 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your opinion! I think I agree with you that I might be a little quick to judge on the Simon Snow characters, but that was the impression it gave me. I will give Carry On a chance, even if it is just because so many people have told me to read it. I did think that sometimes the Simon Snow parts in Fangirl were interrupting the story instead of adding something to the story. So that might have influenced my opinion a bit.
      Anyway, thank you for commenting!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah! I do kind of agree there, they were supposed to add to the character development and sometimes just kind of interrupted it. Carry On is really good though, even if it’s basically just published fan fiction written by the author of the original story 😂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve honestly been avoiding this one because of all the hype. I want to like this author, but I just have this feeling that I won’t. I don’t like the sound of judging one character more harshly over another and I’m sure I’d have the same issue. Appreciate your honest thoughts on this one.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! Even though they judged one character too hard, if you ask me, it was still a quite enjoyable read. I’ve only read one other book by Rainbow Rowell and that is Eleanor & Park and I had mixed feelings about that one too, so I don’t know whether it would be something you’d like, but you can only find out by trying I guess. Thank you for commenting!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I understand your dislike for Levi, but I also liked the aspect of working through the issue of him kissing other girls. I disagree with your thought that Nick should be forgiven. I like that Cath refused to give him that becuase it shows that sometimes your own power comes from an unlikely source. People don’t have to forgive if they don’t want to, and it shows that Cath is her own person and character. I also think it’s a little unfair to say that Cath should get her life together and labeling Wren a terrible sister. As someone in college I can attest that literally no ne has their life together and finding the little things that bring you joy (like fanfiction, which is a totally valid form of writing, especially when it comes to the development of young writers) are what keep you going. The two of them were suddenly thrown into this unfamiliar setting and told to take care of themselves and their own unresolved issues, which they did in different ways.

    However, I do see where you’re coming from and respect your opinions on them. I’m interested to know what books are your favorite!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. In my eyes, what Levi did was much worse than what Nick did, therefore I believe Levi should be treated as harshly or even more as Nick was. So I still am true to my opinions.
      I am also in college, and to be honest, yes maybe nobody has their life together, but there is more to life than fanfiction. Of course fanfiction is a completely valid form of writing, but that wasn’t the point. It was that there are other things important in life, friends, family, school. And letting all of that slip away because you’re writing seems like a waste. I’m not saying that Wren is a bad person, just that the way she acted towards her sister could and should have been better. I don’t think it’s okay for anyone, a sister or friend, to just leave someone hanging because they wants to go drinking and partying. She’s her sister! They should be there for each other when they needed it most.Thank you for sharing your opinions, I respect them but I can’t say I agree completely.
      I’ve got a lot of favourites, but my absolute favourite book is Extremely Loud & Incredibly close. If you’d like to see what else, I’ve got a goodreads shelf with all of my favourites 🙂 https://www.goodreads.com/review/list/11966043?shelf=favorites

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Maybe a little, it has the same genre but I think it is about really different people and the theme is quite different too I think. I think if you like Girl Online, you will probably like this book too, but I’m not sure.

      Liked by 1 person

Let me hear your thoughts!

