short story society

Short Story Society | Kick-off week 3

Sorry for being late! Also send me your stories, because I would love to read them (you can also link me in your post).

Last week’s theme was Retellings, which was loads of fun (at least I thought it was). If you want you can check out my story Fangs and Flowers.

This week’s theme is…

*drumroll*

 

 

 

 

Hidden

hide
[hahyd]

verb (used with object), hid, hidden or hid, hiding.
1. to conceal from sight; prevent from being seen or discovered
2. to obstruct the view of; cover up
3. to conceal from knowledge or exposure; keep secret

verb (used without object), hid, hidden or hid, hiding.
4. to conceal oneself; lie concealed

noun
5. British. a place of concealment for hunting or observing wildlife; hunting blind.

Verb phrases
6. hide out, to go into or remain in hiding.
From: Dictionary.com

I guess this theme is a little vaguer than retellings, but you can do so much with it, for example:

  • A secret that never should be revealed, comes out.
  • Office-worker by day, superhero by night. What is your hidden identity?
  • There’s hidden beauty in the simplest of things, write about something you see every day but don’t appreciate enough.
  • Hidden evil. That silent boy that always follows the rule, is actually super evil and wants to steal the moon *evil laugh*
  • What if there’s a world build within ours, but you just can’t see it? There could be  a complete vampire underground network, or a fairy society, or an alien race living among us.
  • The universe is filled with aliens, but they just don’t want us to know they are there, so they hide out and keep us in the dark.

So that’s all I could think of for now, but let me know what you think of the theme and what you’ll do with it! I hope to see you all on Friday at 6pm UTC. Again other time zones:

UTC+1 (Europe central time): 7pm (19:00)
EST: 1pm (13:00)
IST (India): 11.30pm (23:30)
CST (China): 2am (Saturday) (2:00)
PST: 10am (10:00)

Advertisements

Let me hear your thoughts!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s