discussion · tag

This Is My Genre, Tell Me Yours?

I was tagged by Birdie from Birdie Bookworm for the This Is My Genre Tell Me Yours Book Tag, which is really interesting, because I’ve learned a lot. So thank you! This tag is about (like the name suggests) talking about our favourite book genres. I actually didn’t really know, what my favourite genre was, until I started doing some research and found it!

thisismtgenrenrwlogo.jpg

The Rules

  • Credit the badass Drew @The Tattooed Book Geek as the creator of the tag, either use the created tag name graphic or create your own and link back to his blog
  • Answer the questions
  • Tag as many people as you want

What is your favourite genre?

YA Contemporary Fantasy (and/or low fantasy). I’ve been thinking quite hard about what my favourite genre really is, because I don’t like all fantasy. I had never heard of this term before, but it came up when I googled, and it was exactly what I was looking for. Contemporary fantasy is a sub-genre of fantasy that means that the story takes place in the present/the “real” world. A sub-genre of this is urban fantasy, which is way more well-known, this is contemporary fantasy that takes place in a city.

I’ve also discovered that low fantasy is a thing?? Nobody uses these names.

From wikipedia: The contemporary fantasy and low fantasy genres can overlap as both are defined as being set in the real world. There are differences, however. Low fantasies are set in the real world but not necessarily in the modern age, in which case they would not be contemporary fantasy. Contemporary fantasies are set in the real world but may also include distinct fantasy settings within it, such as the Harry Potter series, in which case they would be high rather than low fantasy.

I’ve realized that almost every one of my favourite tv-shows falls in this spectrum!

Who is your favourite author from that genre?

I can’t decide on one! Top 4: J.K. Rowling, Laini Taylor, Marissa Meyer, Maggie Stiefvater.

What is it about that genre that keeps pulling you back?

I love to read about different the layers in the world, like how there is a whole secret society build behind another one. Sometimes, it’s written so realistically that it makes me wonder about whether there is actually some whole secret society of magical creatures or wizards.

What is the book that started your love for your favourite genre?

I think it started with the Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare. I read the first book when I was about 14, and it really introduced me to a different type of book. I never really read any fantasy when I was younger, mostly contemporary, and fantasy somewhat scared me. It felt so huge and complex, that I never really read those types of books. Also I thought fantasy books like Harry Potter were boring?? Because wizards are not real and therefore boring?? What was I even thinking??? After The Mortal Instruments, my interest in fantasy was peaked and I started reading more.

If you had to recommend at least one book from your favourite genre to a non-reader / someone looking to start that genre, what book would you choose and why?

My favourite series in this YA low fantasy/contemporary fantasy spectrum is the Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer (I don’t know if it counts though, but I’m counting it). Also The Wolves of Mercy Falls, by Maggie Stiefvater! I would recommend those books to anyone! But if you want something for non-readers / newer readers, I would recommend starting with stand-alones, for example A Mortal Song by Megan Crewe and The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater.

Why do you read?

Why wouldn’t I? It’s so relaxing and exciting at the same time. It’s an escape from the stressful and sometimes boring life. I love when you get so caught up in a book, and you forget about everything else.

What is your favourite genre? Do you like contemporary fantasy and/or low fantasy? Book recommendations?

13 thoughts on “This Is My Genre, Tell Me Yours?

  1. Also yaaaaas there are times when I see a rather inconspicuous building and think, “What if that’s a headquarters for magical creatures?!” It makes everyday life less boring 😄

    Liked by 1 person

    1. haha yes exactly! What if we’re all just under some kind of spell that makes us not see the things there really are? It’s really fun to think about how and where all these creatures would live.. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes, I totally get that! When I was in high school, I’d pass by this little path leading up to a building of sort at the top of a hill and think “That’s the entrance to a demigods’ camp!”

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Haha that’s so cool! When I was reading The Wolves of Mercy Falls, I was constantly thinking that there would be wolves coming out of the forest any moment. Or when I was reading TMI, that every old church was suddenly a shadowhunters institute

        Liked by 1 person

      3. That sounds so exciting! 😁 Honestly, I should really check out Maggie Stiefvater’s books. I remember trying to read one but I never got past the prologue for some reason.

        Liked by 1 person

Let me hear your thoughts!

