down the TBR hole · Uncategorized

Down The TBR Hole #6

Can you believe I’m late on my own meme? *hides in shame* This is week six of Down The TBR Hole, which a meme hosted by yours truly here on Lost In A Story.

Most of you probably know this feeling, your Goodreads TBR pile keeps growing and growing and it seems like there is no light at the end of the tunnel. You keep adding, but you add more than you actually read. And then when you’re scrolling through your list, you realize that you have no idea what half the books are about and why you added them. Well that’s going to change!

It works like this:

  • Go to your goodreads to-read shelf.
  • Order on ascending date added.
  • Take the first 5 (or 10 if you’re feeling adventurous) books. Of course if you do this weekly, you start where you left off the last time.
  • Read the synopses of the books
  • Decide: keep it or should it go?

The Books

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

No need to ask. This is a keeper. I’ll just need to finish the Grisha trilogy first!

The Judgement: KEEP

 

 

 

 

 

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

Yeah… How can I not read this one, right? I don’t know. I’ve read A Court of Thorns and Roses and it was a little disappointing. I don’t feel like reading any of SJM’s books right now, and the premise doesn’t sound that interesting to me, so I’m going to let this one go. (don’t hurt me)

The Judgement: GO

 

 

Obsidian (Lux #1) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

I’ve heard amazing things about this book, but the blurb just doesn’t do it for me. A hot (and very annoying) alien neighbour.. no sorry. Also this book apparently includes a lot of sexual tension (which really isn’t my thing) and rape?

The Judgement: GO

 

 

 

 

Angelfall by Susan Ee

It has two sisters and angels, and it sounds really interesting! Also it is dystopia, which is something I don’t read very often, because it’s often not really original, but this has angels!

The Judgement: KEEP

 

 

 

Under The Never Sky by Veronica Rossi

I’m kind of conflicted about this one, it sounds kinda interesting, but on the other hand it seems to be about romance a lot. It does have good reviews, but I think it would be on my tbr forever.

The Judgement: GO

Don’t hurt me for the SJM one, okay *hides*. My opinions might be a little controversial sometimes, but it doesn’t seem like something I’d enjoy a lot. Do you think I made the right decisions here?

22 thoughts on “Down The TBR Hole #6

  1. I will be reading Throne of Glass, but I am trying to go into it with less expectations than I had with A Court Of Thorns And Roses. Are you planning to read the sequel: A Court Of Mist And Fury?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I really don’t know, maybe some day… Now I just want to read books that I know I’ll love. I’ve read a few books lately of which I expected much more than I got, which is not fun 😦

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Maybe I’ll read it one day, but that’s going to be no day close. I did not enjoy ACOTAR that much, so I don’t see myself enjoying this other series a lot.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I agree 100% with your choices! 😀 Six of Crows and Angelfall are definitely keepers. ToG was just OK for me. I would have been okay not reading it at all, actually. I’m trying to give it another chance though b/c so many ppl have told me the story gets better in the second book. As for Obsidian, I read it, but I remember nothing. I’m guessing that’s a bad sign? Never heard of Under the Never Sky. I’ll have to check that one out! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I didn’t like ACOTAR either, but loooved ToG. However I actually wouldn’t recommend reading it as only the first two books are truly good – the rest is basically just soft core erotica :/

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ooh this seems like something I need to do haha! YASS SIX OF CROWS MY FAVE. I…sort of enjoyed it more than the Grisha trilogy? I’d love to hear what you think of it if you read haha. 🙂 Aww and no worries, I won’t come after you for letting go of ToG! It used to be one of my favourite series — definitely more than ACOTAR — but I agree with Trisha, I preferred the first few. *nods* I did read Obsidian at some point, I believe, but I remember not really enjoying the romance and just general ‘meh’-ness.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Now I just want to get over the Grisha trilogy because SoC sounds so awesome! I really need to continue though, I’ve read a lot of other books in the mean time but the Grisha trilogy always seems to come in last in my priority list..
      It feels kinda good to let ToG go haha, I’ve heard good things about it but I just feel like, if I read it, it would constantly feel that general ‘meh’-ness 😛

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Throne of Glass is not that good huh? I have been delaying to read it because the cover is not that awesome haha.. Hey, I thought I saw you read ACOTAR.. I was looking to read your review.. I think I saw you mark it 3 stars on Goodreads.. Great meme! I haven’t look into Jennifer Armentrout’s books yet. Do you like her other series?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah I’m not a fan of the covers of Throne of Glass either. The review of ACOTAR will be up soon! I’m still finishing it up, it’s a buddy read so I’m waiting for my buddy’s answers to the questions 🙂
      I don’t think I’ve ever read any of Jennifer Armentrout’s books, but they do seem like romantic books which is not something I normally go for.

      Liked by 1 person

Let me hear your thoughts!

