beat the backlist · tbr

2017 Challenges I will be participating in

2017 is almost here and I will be participating in three challenges next year, so I’ll just give you an update on what I’ll be participating in and stuff like that.

Comment Challenge

As you might have noticed from the button in my sidebar, I’ll be participating in the Winter 2017 Comment Challenge by FLYLēF and A Kernel of Nonsense. Details of the challenge are here. It works like this, you get matched with a blog every month of this winter (January, February, March) and you can decide to do either 5+ comments, or 10+ comments on their blog. So, for the first month (January) you can sign up before the 26th, you get matched and during January you will comment on each other’s blog at least 5 times. Isn’t that an awesome way to get to know more bloggers?

I have never participated before, but it seems like a lot of fun! I will be commenting 10+ times, and I don’t know who my partner is. For some reason I should mention that. Well. Okay.

Beat The Back-List Challenge

This challenge is organized by Novelknight and runs all though 2017. I have explained here what the challenge is. But in short, what it is: you make a TBR of all the books you wanted to read, but never got the chance to do so, and you read them! Simple, right? My TBR started off with 25 books on them, but now has only 23 (because I’m an idiot and forgot that I saved those books for this challenge). Also, if you participate you can also participate in challenges with your house (which is Gryffindor, which is because I am way too Hufflepuff. I’m weird. Full story on link above). I have no idea how those challenges are supposed to work but it sounds like fun!

Okay so now the books! My TBR now looks like this:

  • Shadow Web by N.M. Browne
  • Pigeon English by Stephen Kelman
  • The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon
  • Dangerous by Shannon Hale
  • A Boy Called M.O.U.S.E. by Penny Dolan
  • The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon
  • Graceling by Kristin Cashore
  • Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff
  • Heartless by Marissa Meyer
  • This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab
  • An Ember in The Ashes by Sabaa Tahir
  • Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo
  • P.S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han
  • Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo
  • A Million Worlds with You by Claudia Gray
  • The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan
  • Six Of Crows by Leigh Bardugo
  • The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski
  • Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins
  • Sinner by Maggie Stiefvater
  • The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson
  • Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by John Tiffany
  • A Brief History of Time by Stephen Hawking

It will probably change a lot during the year but these are the ones I want to read. The list is also on my goodreads.

The Goodreads Challenge

Since this year I’ve been able to surpass my goal quite easily, I’ll be making it somewhat harder next year. So far I’ve read 86 books and my goal was 65 and I’m trying to get to 90 this week (it’ll be hard though). So for next year my goal will be 100. That is a huge challenge already, but I’ll try! That’s like two books per week, and a little over 8 books per month.

What challenges are you participating in?

Merry Christmas!

19 thoughts on “2017 Challenges I will be participating in

    1. I really really liked the first book! I listened to the audiobook which was wonderful, but sadly the second book’s audiobook wasn’t online yet. Can’t wait to read it!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Omg you have some GREAT books on your TBR list!! Illuminae and This Savage Song are two of my all time favorites of 2016 😍😍 SO FABULOUS! This post also reminds me I need to work on a similar post and narrow down my challenges. 😂🙈

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Most of the books on my tbr are ones that have been recommended to me so often, but I just hadn’t had time to read them yet! I really look forward to reading Illuminae and This Savage Song!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I plan on participating in beat the backlist too. We have some of the same books. The Bone Season, Illuminae, the Sun is Also a Star, Morgan Matson’s books. The Winner’s Trilogy is amazing, can’t wait for you to read it!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks so much for participating in the Comment Challenge. I hope you enjoy connecting with your partner this January. Also, good luck on the other two challenges you have lined up for the year. Just a little inside information, Six of Crows is one of the best books I’ve ever read and I hope you get a chance to read it soon.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve never heard of the last one, good luck on your challenges! I hope I’ll enjoy the Winter Comment Challenge as much as you did 🙂

      Like

  4. I’m for sure participating in the Goodreads challenge, as well as Travelling the Pages which takes place throughout the year of 2017 and is basically where you’re given a bingo chart and each bingo square has a place such as South America or Asia or something and you have to read a book that takes place in that country.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m compiling a list and they don’t all have to be set in a different place as one another, but as long as they’re not set in the USA and match the topic it’s fine

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Hi Lia, Welcome to the Comment Challenge! I’m so glad you decided to join us. I find that visiting a blogger for a whole month builds a lasting bond long after the challenge is over. I’m super excited that Alicia and I are almost done with pairing. We’ll let you know midnight on the 29th. Have fun!

    Liked by 1 person

Let me hear your thoughts!

