buddy reading · review

Why I thought A Court Of Thorns and Roses was not very good | With Debbie and Tanya

Together with Debbie from Debbie’s Library and Tanya from Scribbled Dreams I read A Court of Thorns & Roses. After our failed buddy read of Emma we decided to read something else together, and that has become A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas. I was really excited about this book because of the hype around SJM’s books, but I don’t think it was for me.

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. MaasAfbeeldingsresultaat voor a court of thorns and roses

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Do you have a favourite moment/scene, and what is it?

Debbie: Every moment with Lucien and I also did enjoy Rhysand’s scene , he is a mysterious bad guy, who might not be as bad as we think.

Tanya: I love the Feyre and Tamlin dance it was magical and beautifully written.

Lia: Hmmm I don’t know. I think the starlight pool scene? I loved how you could picture it all in your head.

 What is your opinion on the world the book is set in?

Debbie: I love the way the world was set up. In my mind there was really a line between the human realm and faerie realm and those are split up as well.

Tanya: I love the world building. It was different and refreshing from anything I have read.

Lia: The world building was great! Although it is still not really clear to me what the difference between fae and faeries (?) is, I thought it was well constructed and very magical.

 Was there romance in the book and did you like it?

Debbie: There was romance (and a sex scene) in this book. And I don’t really know what to think of the romance. I have mixed feelings about it. Feyre went through hell to prove that she loves Tamlin, but Tamlin also give me the very dominant vibes and I don’t know if I like it.

Tanya: Yes there was romance. And I didn’t specifically enjoy it. In the end it was about how much Feyre loved Tamlin and she went to great lengths to prove her love.

Lia: Yeah there was romance, but I didn’t really enjoy it much. I thought it was kinda cute when it was all innocent, but then they suddenly went a little overboard. I can’t stand it when characters suddenly are like “we’re soulmates and I’ll protect you even if that means I’ll die”.

My Review

It has been a few weeks since I read this book, so I don’t remember everything. Here are some of the things I liked, and some of the things I didn’t like:

+ The worldbuilding was great, it was wonderfully done and felt really magical. Even though I thought some things were still quite unclear to me how they worked, I think that in the future books these will all be explained.

– I did not really enjoy the love story, the book had one of my tropes in it, which is that characters suddenly care so much for each other that they are willing to give up everything (including their life) to save that person. I always feel like it’s coming out of nowhere.

– I couldn’t really connect to the characters, and I don’t know why. I felt like I still didn’t know them after this book.

+ Rhysand is super interesting as a character and I’m happy he showed up to make the book more interesting.

– Feyre’s action in the middle of the book (I’m trying not to spoil you) was really stupid. She should have at least thought it through before throwing herself in danger like that.

– The book was slow in the beginning and hard to get into,

+ The ending however was really fast-paced and I think I read the second half of the book in one sitting.

Overall I’m giving this book 3.5 stars because it was enjoyable, and quite good, but did not make up for all the hype and high expectations. I expected much more from this book, and sadly I didn’t like it that much. I will probably not read any SJM book soon or maybe ever.

If you want to read more of our opinions on this book keep your eye out on Tanya‘s and Debbie‘s blog, once they have posted they reviews I’ll link them to this post.

Debbie’s Post

Tanya’s Post

What did you think of this book?

14 thoughts on “Why I thought A Court Of Thorns and Roses was not very good | With Debbie and Tanya

  1. Even I didn’t like ACOTAR as much because it also got a bit boring towards the middle and I honestly never liked the relationship between Feyre and Tamsin. Rhys was my favourite character even though his role in this book is less.
    You should certainly read ACOMAF ASAP! I totally absolutely LOVED it. It’s one of my favourites now. :”)
    Nice post.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I didn’t like ACOTAR that much either, i listened to the audiobook and it was hard to get into the story until half of the book. I also didn’t like that Feyre did so much for Tamlin to prove her love while for me he didn’t deserve it. But the second book is soooo much better I loved it 🙂

    Like

  3. Although I used to really adore SJM’s Throne of Glass, after ACOTAR and the later ToGs came out I kinda…stopped enjoying them as much? I didn’t mind ACOTAR, but I found the romance and general interactions with male characters to be lowkey disturbing. And I also don’t really like sex scenes, so. Mmm. (Having said this: I did read ACOMAF, and whilst it was still problematic, I did enjoy it more.)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I never read ToG but I’m not feeling like reading it either. Yeah I didn’t like the romance either, I skimmed over the sex scene (I dislike those too). I think I’ll have to read ACOMAF then, because everybody is telling me that it’s so much better than ACOTAR.

      Liked by 1 person

Let me hear your thoughts!

