personal · tag

New Year’s Resolutions & This Time Next Year Tag

In about 10 hours from when ‘m writing this the new year begins and that makes this the perfect day to look back at what you did and what you’re going to do. What is life without a little self-improvement? I love looking back, but right now I’m going to look ahead.

My life is always so busy with everything, and I love being busy, but sometimes I need a break from it. I’ve come to realize that there are so many things that I want to do, and so many hobbies I would like to keep up with. There are some changes I want to pursue in my life and what better time is there than the New Year? I’ve got some resolutions! I don’t really have resolutions at all actually, but this year I have, which feels weird. Anyway, let’s get into it.

In 2017 I will

  • Eat less meat. I don’t want to become a vegetarian, because I do love to eat meat from time to time, but I just want to eat less meat. At Christmas dinner my dad had made some kind of deer stew and I felt so horrible about eating it. Seriously, I couldn’t eat more than a few bites. I don’t like meat that much (besides, it’s really expensive) so I thought why not eat less?
  • Get more organized. My life is a mess most of the time, I have so many ideas and plans but they get all jumbled in my head and I forget about them. I would like to change that. So I’m going to make a planner in which I’ll write everything down. I’ll also start writing blog posts ahead and plan out my tasks.
  • Get my driver’s license. Finally! Yay! I hope to get it before spring, so maybe (just maybe) I can actually go somewhere on my own, and not have to take the train!
  • Get high grades. My grades aren’t bad, but lately my motivation has gone down and I barely do more than is necessary for school. And I really want to get my grades up again! At least some eights and nines should be feasible!
  • Blog less but have more interesting content. I blog daily now, and sometimes I just don’t have time on a day, so I do an easy tag or something else, and I don’t want to do quick posts. I want content that’s really interesting, so I’m going to stop forcing myself to write every day. I will do more personal and more discussion-type of posts in the future.
  • Keep writing. This month, I’ve written more than any month, and I loved it! I just need that little push to keep writing. I’m also going to try NaNo in November, so I’ve got to prep for that!
  • Draw more. I want to draw more, both just for fun, but also so I can get some more designs in my society6 store.
  • Not quit photography. In February, when my photography club ends, I know I’ll be relieved (I don’t like the meetings that much) but I don’t want to stop photography all-together.
  • Read a lot! I’m trying to up my goal to 100 books this year. I am thinking about also trying to read some non-fiction, like self-help/informational books/popular science books, because they’re so inspiring and interesting. I’ve been interested in reading Quiet by Susan Cain for a while, so that might be the first non-fictional book I’ll read.

This Time Next Year Tag

I was tagged a long while ago (over a month) for Sarah’s tag This Time Next Year. Thank you Sarah for the tag! I think this is a great idea and I should have done this a long while ago. So sorry for that. I couldn’t come up with anything at first, so I procrastinated (I should probably put that on my list as well: stop procrastinating so often)

  • Thank the person who tagged you
  • Write your goals for next year
  • Write how you’re going to achieve your goals
  • Tag at least 5 of your blogger friends to share their goals
  • Then if you wish in 365 days write a post for everyone to see if you have been successful or not!

 This time next year… I will have participated in NaNoWriMo, and not given up

I will do this by practicing writing a lot, I plan on keeping writing every week or month. So I at least get more easily into that “writer mood”, you know the fluent typing thing: when you’re just writing and writing without thinking too much about it. I will also plan my project, I will have thought of a story idea before the end of October. Then in November I will start planning my novel, using a very elaborate outline (because I will need that).

This time next year… I’ll be finishing up my Bachelor End Project, and hopefully I will graduate “met genoegen” ( I don’t know what it’s called in English, it means you’ve got a 7.5 or higher on average)

I will do this by keep working hard, keep up with all my courses and get high grades. I will need to nail some exams (getting grades of eights and higher), which means that I’ll need to study hard and don’t settle for a six.

This time next year… I’ll be more organized in my blogging, writing, school and basically everything

I will do this by keeping a planner, and I think I will use a combination of regular planning and bullet journaling, because I’ve used it in the past and bullet journaling works quite well for me. I have written a post about planning and organizing that will go up tomorrow on Ally’s blog.

I would love to know what your goals are this year, so tell me below or do this tag! I tag everybody who wants to do (sorry I’m not tagging anyone in specific because I know a lot of people already did a post like this one).

What are your goals?

 

17 thoughts on “New Year’s Resolutions & This Time Next Year Tag

    1. Thank you! Happy New Year!
      As much as I love the trains, I would like to be able to drive myself for a change 😛
      That’s really sad, if there were no trains in my area I wouldn’t be able to go to uni at all… That would be horrible.

      Like

  1. Good luck with your resolutions!! 😄 I also wanna read more this year, not 100 books but definitely read more. I also wanna be more organized. I’ve got good grades last year, now I just want to keep them up. And drawing more and photography are also things I definitely want to do!!
    I loved this post! 😄 😄
    P.S. I love your blog!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think the English phrase you’re looking for is to graduate “with honours”. Being organised is something I really need to do this year, especially when I want to keep both my blogs going at equal paces. However, the big aim for this year is to finally gain permanent employment. It’s now three years since I graduated and have been unsuccessful in the job market, so it’s time to really sort that out.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes! That’s it! I didn’t know you had two blogs, what’s your other blog about? I really hope you’ll find work! It can be hard sometimes, but I’m sure you’ll find something 🙂

      Like

      1. My second blog is my Disney blog. It has been inactive within the last few months as all the motivation to blog seemed to go onto books instead, but I’m trying to build it back up, get some posts organised and scheduled etc. I think I spent too much time thinking about books that I didn’t leave enough room for Disney and it obviously suffered.

        And thank you. My parents seem to think that I’m not searching hard enough but I want something that gives me a small ounce of satisfaction and meaning. I know it’s probably unrealistic at the moment but it would be nice.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I think I knew that! Don’t I follow your other blog as well?
        Having work that you like is very important, so don’t settle for something you don’t enjoy! Good luck!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I love your goals, there’s defiantly a few on here that I need to consider too such as reading more and keeping organised :’) thank you for doing this tag Lia, hope you have a great year! – Sarah xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

Let me hear your thoughts!

