down the TBR hole

Down The TBR Hole #12

This is the 12th week of Down The TBR Hole, which a meme hosted by yours truly here on Lost In A Story, in which I attempt to get my TBR under control.

Most of you probably know this feeling, your Goodreads TBR pile keeps growing and growing and it seems like there is no light at the end of the tunnel. You keep adding, but you add more than you actually read. And then when youre scrolling through your list, you realize that you have no idea what half the books are about and why you added them. Well thats going to change!

It works like this:

  • Go to your goodreads to-read shelf.
  • Order on ascending date added.
  • Take the first 5 (or 10 if youre feeling adventurous) books. Of course if you do this weekly, you start where you left off the last time.
  • Read the synopses of the books
  • Decide: keep it or should it go?

The Books:

Afbeeldingsresultaat voor replica lauren oliverReplica by Lauren Oliver

I’m not really a fan of Lauren Oliver, although I liked the delirium trilogy. I’m not going to read this because I’ve heard not so good things about it.

The Judgement: GO

Afbeeldingsresultaat voor a study in charlotte cavallaroA Study in Charlotte by Brittany Cavallaro

I need to further investigate whether I’ll like this book. I love Sherlock Holmes so this book immediately attracted my attention. I’ve heard good and bad things about it, and I don’t know how to make up my mind.

The Judgement: KEEP (for now)

Afbeeldingsresultaat voor heartless marissa meyerHeartless by Marissa Meyer

It’s Marissa Meyer, of course I’m going to keep it!

I actually wanted to buy this book but they didn’t have the pretty white cover, so maybe I’ll need to order it online.

The Judgement: KEEP

Afbeeldingsresultaat voor illuminae kaufmanIlluminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

I heard so many good things about this series and I love books that have original things on the inside: calligraphy, page layout, design etc. I’ve been dying for some good sci-fi!

The Judgement: KEEP

Afbeeldingsresultaat voor graceling kristin cashoreGraceling by Kristin Cashore

I already own this book and it has amazing reviews so I’ll read it. The cover is kind of holding me back though, I don’t really like it.

The Judgement: KEEP

What do you think? Did I make the right decisions? Have you read any of the books?

28 thoughts on “Down The TBR Hole #12

    1. That’s too bad, I think I’ll read it though. I loved The Lunar Chronicles, so I’m hoping Heartless is at least a bit as good.

      Like

  1. I would toss Graceling if I were you. For some reason, that book just didn’t do it for me. It was nothing but traveling throughout the entire story. Them going from one place to the next. I don’t know… I guess I expected more action and adventure. But anyway, you may end up loving it, who knows?! If you do read it though, I’d love to hear your thoughts on it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah that might be a good idea. If you didn’t enjoy her other books, you probably would not like this one either. Going through your tbr is a lot of work but it also pays off 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve read Heartless, and I absolutely loved it – it’s probably one of my favourite books last year. I know there are mixed reviews, but for me I thought it was amazingly written and generally fab. When you read it please let me know and tell me what you think!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ah I loved Heartless, Illuminae, and Graceling (especially the last two!) I can’t wait to see your thoughts on Illuminae. I think it’s one of the best YA sci-fi’s out there right now. And don’t let the cover of Graceling hold you back! It’s honestly one of the best YA books I’ve read in the last decade 😀 The main male protagonist, Po, is so swoon- worthy! Glad you decided to keep the ones you did! And I’ve heard about A Study in Charlotte, but haven’t looked too much into it. I love Sherlock Holmes so maybe I’ll have to add it to my TBR. Great post, Lia! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! I can’t wait to read all those books, why can’t I read them all right now?? 😦 I saw a sci-fi movie yesterday and now I really want to read some sci-fi, but I don’t have any here! Only fantasy and I’m not in the mood for fantasy…
      I’m hearing a lot of mixed opinions on Graceling, but if it’s one of the best you’ve read in a decade, it can’t be anything but good!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ah which movie was it!? I love movies just as much as books haha. And I hope you get your hands on a sci-fi soon. I wasn’t really in the mood for fantasy either until I picked up Caraval. I LOVE it so far. But after I’m done with it, I want to read a contemporary or fiction. I really do hope you end up loving Graceling as much as I do 😀 Can’t wait to read your review on it!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I watched Passengers in the cinema, and it was pretty good 🙂 I haven’t read Caraval yet, but I’ve heard a lot of good things about it. I hope I’ll like Graceling! And I hope you’ll love Caraval 😀

        Like

  4. I loved Heartless and I am still trying to get through A Study In Charlotte, I hope to finish it soon because the second book is coming out in May I believe.
    I am also wondering if I should read Replica, the main reason I would like to read it, is that my sister’s name is Gemma 😅

    Liked by 1 person

    1. So is A Study in Charlotte good?
      Gemma is a pretty name, for some reason when I read a book with characters that have the same name as someone I know, I will dislike that character. I don’t know why but it has happened. So I hope that doesn’t happen if you decide to read Replica.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I haven’t finished it yet and right now I don’t really feel like picking it up. Right now I’m meh about it. I like the story, but right now I don’t really feel connected to the main characters… I hope the second half will be better once I will pick it up.
        And I hope that I won’t dislike the Gemma in Replica if I would pick it up 😅

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Ooh, you let go of Replica? I have a copy so I’ll let you know if it’s any good. There’s also a sequel coming.
    I loved her Delirium series and I am not a fan of her latest books, but I want to give this one a try. Good choices on all of them, though! I know it must be hard and I plan on starting to do this!

    Liked by 1 person

Let me hear your thoughts!

