beat the backlist · tbr · wrapup

It’s A Wrap(-up)! TBR & Challenge Updates January

I have loved and I have hated January, but overall I had a lot of fun! AND GUESS WHAT?! I actually was able to read almost every book on my January TBR!! I’m weirdly excited about that. So let’s see what I read this month:

  • Fate’s Fables by T. Rae Mitchell ★★☆ (review)
  • In The Hope of Memories by Olivia Rivers ★★★★★
  • The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde ★★★★☆
  • Wucaii by Pembroke Sinclair ★★★★ (review)
  • The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness ★★★★
  • Optimists Die First by Susin Nielsen ★★★★ (review yet to come)
  • The Sixth Event by Kristen Morie-Osisek ★★★☆ (review yet to come)
  • Stars Above by Marissa Meyer ★★★★★
  • Escapades in Bizarrchaeology by Adrian Burrows ★★★ (review yet to come)

Next month’s tbr:

  • Siege & Storm by Leigh Bardugo
  • Ruin & Rising by Leigh Bardugo
  • An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir (buddy read!)
  • Dreadnought by April Daniels (arc)
  • Sequence by Lorraine M.L. (arc; I’ve already started but got stuck so I’m going to try again)
  • Serpent by Sarah Fay Olson (arc)
  • The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams (audiobook, maybe?)
  • All The Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr

I really want to finish all my arcs and then focus on reading more of the books I already own, and maybe buy new books 🙂

Challenge Updates

The Beat The Backlist Challenge

I’ve read a total of 6 books for this challenge, which is something I am quite happy with. Even though I haven’t reviewed a lot of them, I’m okay with it (yayy, some points for Gryffindor)

Title

Author

Pages

Reviewed

Fate’s fables

Mitchell T. Rae

495

Yes

The Picture of Dorian Gray

Oscar Wilde

254

No

The Rest of Us Just Live Here

Patrick Ness

343

No

Stars Above

Marissa Meyer

369

No

Shadow Web

N.M. Browne

312

No

Escapades of Bizarrchaeology

Adrian Burrows

169

Not yet

Which brings me to a total of (let me grab my calculator) 244 points for January! (calculated by (total # pages)/10 + 50*(# books reviewed)).

I’m planning on doing the Hermione’s Library treasure hunt, which means you read a book with each letter of the alphabet, so I’ve now covered the F, the P, the R, the S and the Z (because that one could be anywhere in the title).

The Harry Potter Writing Challenge

I have to admit, I failed miserably in this challenge. I wanted to participate in all of the chats but I FORGOT. Every. Single. Time. ARGH *angry face*

However, I hope I make it up a little by having earned a lot of points for Hufflepuff! My word counts:

  • Stories/fiction writing: 849 (that’s a sad amount…)
  • Blog posts: 10284 (including this post)
  • Character descriptions (I hope this counts): 2003

How was your month?

10 thoughts on “It’s A Wrap(-up)! TBR & Challenge Updates January

    1. Yeah, long story short I’m very Hufflepuff and that’s why I chose for Gryffindor 😛 (they had so few members and I felt sorry for them)
      Are you in Gryffindor too?

      Like

    1. Thanks I hope so too! I am looking forward to Dreadnought as well. And also, I keep thinking the title is Deadnought.. but I just learned Dreadnought means battleship so that makes more sense than “dead nothing” 🙂

      Like

  1. It’s a great feeling when you manage to complete the majority (or all) of your monthly TBR! I haven’t heard of any of those books except Stars Above but it’s encouraging to see you rate it 5 stars 😀 I’m really excited to read that one. Gotta read Winter first, though LOL. Your TBR for this month is lookin’ good! I’m excited to see what you think of An Ember in the Ashes. I have yet to read Ruin and Rising, so I’d love to hear your thoughts on it 😀 Hope all goes well for you this month!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I loved Stars Above, I love the characters so much and I listened to the audiobook and I was grinning like an idiot half the time because it was too cute 🙂
      Thanks! I hope you love Winter as much as I do!

      Liked by 1 person

Let me hear your thoughts!

