tag

Tag Tuesday | I Dare Book Tag

Back in December I was tagged by Annike from Twin Tales and by Bex from My Shelf and Myself for the I dare you tag, so thank you both! It has been a while, but I am here with the answers 🙂

i-dare-you-book-tag-graphic

The Questions

  1. Which book has been on your shelves the longest?
  2. I really can’t remember, my shelves have changed a lot over the years, but I think it could be by copy of City of Bones by Cassandra Clare. Most of the books I read before that one I have unshelved.
  1. What is your current read, your last read and the book you’ll read next?
    At the time that I’m writing this, which is about 10 days before I’m posting this, I am reading both An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir and Serpent by Sarah Fay Olsen. I am planning on reading the rest of the Grisha trilogy by Leigh Bardugo next, I have already read the first, so now it’s time for the rest!
  2. What book(s) did everyone like and you hated?
    I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson, I didn’t hate it, I just didn’t enjoy it much.
  3. Which book do you keep telling yourself you’ll read, but you probably won’t?
    Probably a few classics; To Kill A Mockingbird for example. I also own a book by David Sedaris which is Dutch I believe and I have not even started reading it but I have already given up. I don’t think I’ll ever read it.
  4. Which book are you saving for “retirement”?
    Well, retirement is a long time, but I can imagine my 70 year old reading books about middle-aged women in some castle in Italy falling in love with the gardener, you know what I mean.
  5. Last page: read it first or wait till the end?
    Always wait, I don’t want to spoil myself!
  6. Acknowledgement: waste of ink and paper or interesting aside?
    Depends on the author, some really make it an interesting piece, others a waste of space.
  7. Which book character would you switch places with?
    None. My life might be a little boring, but at least it’s safe and I like it.
  8. Do you have a book that reminds you of something specific in your life?
    Pretty much every book reminds me of something in life. But Radio Silence by Alice Oseman reminds me of a lot of situations that happened to me in real life.
  9. Name a book you acquired in some interesting way?
    I once bought a bag with books in it, without knowing which books where in there. I got some really good books and some not at all. Overall it was a pretty good buy, especially since you got 4 or 5 books for the price of 1. I must still have that bag somewhere, it has a John Green quote on it!
  10. Have you ever given away a book for a special reason to a special person?
    I once got a Twilight book from my mom for Christmas, but she didn’t realize it was the third (?) book in the series. I had (and still have) no intention in reading Twilight so I gave it to my best friend who is obsessed with twilight and collects the books. I also bought another friend a pretty copy of Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo for her birthday and she was very happy with it!
  11. Which book has been with you to the most places?
    A lot of books have been travelling with me from my hometown to my university town, but I also always bring books on vacations. So I guess my answer would be.. I don’t know? The farthest a book has gone with me was to the US a few years ago. I remember it was a very strange book and it had goblins in it, I can’t even recall the title. I didn’t like it.
  12. Any “required reading” you hated in high school that wasn’t so bad two years later?
    I really enjoyed all my required reading for English class, however, I hated most books I had to read for my Dutch class, and oh… French, that was a disaster. I read them but I didn’t understand them. Some of the books I had to read for Dutch are even more horrible than I can remember. For some reason a lot of Dutch books are about middle aged men who have too little sex (according to themselves), drink too much and fall in love with a very shady girl (or a hooker).
  13. What is the strangest item you’ve ever found in a book?
    Receipts? Handmade bookmarks? I haven’t found anything special in books so far.
  14. Used or brand new?
    Both! But if I can, I buy used books.
  15. Have you ever read a Dan Brown?
    Yes, I’ve read The Da Vinci Code (of course).
  16. Have you ever seen a movie you liked better than the book?
    Not that I can think of.
  17. Which book should have never been published?
    Any book that’s racist probably, I think Mein Kamph applies here 😛
  18. Have you ever read a book that’s made you hungry, cookbooks being excluded from this question?
    To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before, they are baking cookies so often in that book!
  19. Who is the person whose book advice you’ll always take?
    Idk? No-ones? I guess, often I follow my friend from high school’s advice, however she did recommend me SJM’s books, and I don’t think they’re for me.

6 thoughts on “Tag Tuesday | I Dare Book Tag

  1. Once at the library I found a crispy slice of bacon being used as a book mark in a returned book. Once I also found a 9 year old check out slip in one of our books while making a display. No idea how that managed to stay in there for all that time, especially considering it had been a popular book… 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. eww, bacon?? That’s kinda gross. Weird that people use that as a book mark… I also find old check out slips in books but not that old.

      Like

Let me hear your thoughts!

