review

SeQuence (#1) review

General Rating: ★☆ (1.5 stars)

Diversity Rating: – (0 stars)

Before I started writing this, I had to let out a gigantic sigh, and I think that explains very well how I felt about this book. I have made so many comments on this book that I think they could say everything I need to say.

SeQuence (#1) by Lorraine M.L.M.sequence2bcover2blarge2bebook-1

Alessia Appleton is desperate. She’s desperate to silence the voices inside her head, but being committed to an island asylum has only made them worse. Still, at least there’s the ocean. Water is the one thing that blocks Alessia from hearing the thoughts of those around her. Complete submersion is her only relief. So, when she gets the chance to escape her wardens and the voices, Alessia takes it. She dives into the sea and a giant wave drags her under.

When she comes to, one thing is clear–either Alessia’s completely lost her mind, or she’s not on Earth anymore.

Instead, she finds herself in a world with two moons, a complex undersea society, a long-lost grandmother, and a drool-worthy young man named Dante Erajion. However, it doesn’t take long for Alessia to realise that a new world comes with all kinds of new rules and new problems. In Zeneshia sequence takes precedence over chance, and Alessia’s arrival has set off the Foretold Sequence of Hearts, shifting the future to a dire series of choices between Life, Love, and Death.

 This book is about Alessia, who hears voices that drive her crazy. She is sent to an island / mental hospital, and in some weird wicked way she ends up in another world called Zeneshia. It is the most beautiful place you can imagine. She meets a guy named Dante and she meets a lot of people who turn out to be her long lost family or something like that.

Of course she and Dante fall in love and gosh I have never seen a case of instalove this horrible. In chapter 8 Dante says: “You’re the reason for every action I take now. My sequence is yours forever, my life is your life. If I have to give my life for you, I’ll do it over and over again until there’s nothing left to give.” (let me repeat, that was CHAPTER 8!) And that made me want to puke and hit him. It is a very heavy case of instalove and something I like to call “the pit of eternal sacrifice”, in which the characters would do anything for the other person. Literally anything. Dante is a mysterious and way too perfect and typical YA love interest. He has the dreamy eyes in a strange colour (red), he has the tragic past, the determination to fix everything, and often disappears without saying why. He is also overdramatic and “flawed” (aka it seems like he is flawed, but there is nothing flawed about him).

Okay enough rambling about the horrible love story, what I also didn’t like was how Alessia’s “disability” simply resolved itself. I really liked the idea of her hearing voices and going crazy, I would have loved to see her deal with it, but instead *poof* all problems disappeared.

After given up on this book about halfway, I have given it another chance. I read the rest of the book with some struggle and at about 75% the book finally started to get interesting. The first 75% just about nothing happened, but then when it started to get interesting, I was so bored I lost all interest in the story and characters that I simply didn’t care anymore. To be honest I have no clue what happened, I just skimmed through and skipped all the dramatics.

The world it was set in was really too perfect and beautiful, it was like a world of puppies and rainbows, but then without the puppies and instead wondrous creatures and dreamy-eyed boys.

I am giving this book 1.5 stars, because I hated it for the most part. I really can’t think of any aspect of this book that I liked. And I would not recommend it at all.

5 thoughts on “SeQuence (#1) review

      1. Nah…I trust your judgement (same thing happened to me with Slumber by JL Weil: gorgeous cover but 11% in I was like, “Nope” and if I had a physical copy at the time, I would have thrown it across the room).

        Liked by 1 person

Let me hear your thoughts!

