The Bad Book Project

The Bad Book Project #11 | Writing style (by Tiana)

This is the one-but-last post for this project, and I am over my head in preparations for Camp NaNoWriMo. My floor is currently covered in note cards of every colour and I am working on the plot and the characters. In less than two weeks I’m going to start writing and I’m super excited! I’m also very excited to welcome Tiana from The Book Raven, who will talk about writing styles!


One of the most important parts of writing is your voice. That whisper deep inside you that aches to be poured out onto the page. It comes out in every little thing that you write, an email, a blog post, even a text, but the truest place where it reigns free is when writing a story. 

Creating an entire world with a small family of characters that interact with one another exactly the way you shape them to is the expression of what you see and believe in deep inside of you. Your hopes, your worries, your deepest thoughts and memories,  appear on the page without you ever knowing it and that is what creates your voice, your writing style. 

If you enjoy observing and creating vivid detail that will show in everything you write. 

The red ballpoint pen danced across the page leaving Ink behind like a trail of blood. The women’s hand was fluid as she wrote, almost happy, but as the Ink spread she didn’t realise what problems her swirling message would cause. Even in the most simple of sentences who you are, bleeds into your work. 

If you care deeply about emotion and thoughts that too will show in all of your writing. 

There was something about him I could put my finger on, he was gorgeous, talented, everyone love him, but something was off. Whenever he smiled it didn’t quite reach his eyes. He was cordial enough but when you asked him something he’d get this look, a harshness that somehow crossed the barrier between anger and sadness. 

Even if you care deeply about getting straight to the point. 

She walked right up to the man and kissed him full on the mouth not caring who saw. When she was finished she looked to the corner and smiled, that other girlfriend of his sure didn’t know about her. 

However, many writers struggle with the idea of developing their writing style, their voice. Many get stuck thinking that what they have to say isn’t good enough at least the way they wish to say it and mimicking commences. Everyone wants to sound like their favorite bestselling author, but the truth is if everyone sounded like everyone else words would loose their meaning and the world become lost in the void of unoriginality. The reason we resonate with an author is because their voice tells the stories that we thought of in the back of our minds, but didn’t quite know the words to convey our truths. 

So, how do we go about developing our unique voices? How do we turn off the voices inside us that say our words could never be good enough? 

The answer: Just keep writing. 

Write everything you see. Write your thoughts. Write what worries you. Write what makes you happy. Write that random story that pops in your head when you’re about to go to bed at midnight. 

Our voices emerge when we let go of all our pressures and give in to what speaks to the mind. Our voice will continue to grow and change throughout life as we ourselves, grow and change. Your voice is who you are. To embrace it is to embrace yourself and that is what makes writing beautiful. 

So get to writing! Set your worries free and write what your passion takes you. Let who you are shine through your work and you will have a voice that can only be recognised as all your own. You have so many amazing things to say and I would hope that you would say them. Don’t be afraid to put into words what you know to be true. 

-Tiana Wolfe (thebookraven)


I hope you enjoyed this post as much as I did. Thank you Tiana for this wonderful piece! What is your best tip on developing a writing style?

I forgot to ask, are you still looking for a cabin for Camp NaNoWriMo? Me and Savannah (the book prophet) have some space left in ours.

23 thoughts on “The Bad Book Project #11 | Writing style (by Tiana)

  1. Great post! I agree that it is important that you let your own voice direct the way you write, that way people would be able to recognise your work.
    I wish I could participate in Camp NaNoWriMo, but I am gonna need all the spare time I have for my research. Maybe next year. Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you! I’ll do my best. And I will be trying to start writing again soon, so maybe with Camp NaNoWriMo in mind, I’ll set a monthly goal for myself focused on writing.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ll be sad to see the end of this series! I’ve really enjoyed all the writing insights, especially pairing your own thoughts with these guest posts on the same topic.

    Do you still have room in your cabin? I’d like to join (As Is The Sea) if that’s alright! I also have a close friend who is also my community’s liaison for NaNoWriMo (Kitsune123) that is looking for a cabin, if you want some more company 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, it’s fun! I loved all the guest posts, so maybe it’ll return in a different project. Sometimes the good things have to end… 🙂
      We have plenty of room in our cabin! I’ll make sure you’ll get an invite (and your friend too!)

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey apparently you can’t get invited if you don’t have a project, so you’re gonna have to go to the website and create a project so I can add you 😊

      Like

Let me hear your thoughts!

