announcements · writing

Online BookCon, Series Readathon & the Typewriter Project (updates & announcements)

I got several announcements to make so I thought I should just make them all in one post.

The Armchair Book Expo

For all those people who never got to go to bookcons either because it was too pricy or because you’re an international like me, this is the perfect solution. The Armchair Book Expo is an online bookcon with twitter parties, daily discussion topics, instagram challenges and giveaways. It runs from May 31th to June 3rd and I will be participating. Though, I am not really 100% sure how it works, I’m sure I’ll figure it out as it goes.

Series Crackdown

This readathon is organized by Mel from The Book Moo and it is focused on reading series. It is a ten-day readathon from tomorrow May 26th (oh, I didn’t realize that was tomorrow… oops) to June 4th. My TBR will consist of the Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater, of which I already started the first book. My plan is to finish The Raven Boys, and read The Dream Thieves, Blue Lily Lily Blue and The Raven King. I am halfway through The Raven Boys, so 3 and a half book is my goal. I will probably be reading some other books simultaneously though, since I like reading multiple books at the same time and I am already reading We Are The Ants right now.

The First Task of The Typewriter Project

This project is organized by the wonderful Mahriya from My Bookish Life and I am participating. My guest post will go up on her blog soon so keep your eyes out! The first task entailed writing a blurb with a diverse character and the word “tranquil” in it. So here is my submission (I also included a cover/image thing just because I liked it):

(Mini-)Snippet: The foundation and coloured lenses I stole can only change so much. For someone like me, being stared at is the rule, not the exception. Sometimes I think that the world is in full colour and I was intentionally left blank.

Blurb:wren

For Wren, life has never been tranquil nor easy. With her mother (who thought she was some kind of demon child) dumping her on the streets when she was a baby, she had to fight to stay alive. Sometimes she wished she was a demon, and did not have a rare genetic anomaly that left her without skin pigment. Looking at her was like looking at the sun: too bright and making you want to avert your eyes.

She moved from orphanage to orphanage, and when she thinks she finally found herself a home, she gets kicked out for hurting the only person she cares about. An unfortunate fall left the girl she considers her little sister in a coma. With nobody to prove her innocence and all odds against her, will she be able to convince her guardians it wasn’t her fault? Or will she have to live on the streets once again?

“A story of an extraordinary girl, living an extraordinary life, struggling to be normal.”

The main character is albino which counts as diverse, and I only just found out this is inherited so actually this story is a mess and can never be true, but you haven’t heard that from me okay.

Last but not least, I’ve only gotten a few submissions for the Blogger Newbies project, and I would love to get some more, so if you are new at blogging go check out this post! Also it would be nice if you are planning to participate but haven’t send your post yet, that you could let me know, then I know people are working on it and that I’m not a failure.

Are you participating in any of these projects/events/readathons? Have you ever been to a bookcon or are you just like me and would you love to go but can’t?

26 thoughts on “Online BookCon, Series Readathon & the Typewriter Project (updates & announcements)

  1. An online bookexpo is such a great idea! I’ve never heard of it before until now. Your story sounds so interesting!! I hadn’t ever heard of albino until now actually!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! I really don’t know how it’s supposed to work and the website is a bit vague as well but I love the idea of an online bookexpo so, I’ll see 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. There have been a few signings in Ireland and I am getting an amazing chance to go to NY for BookCon this year but I agree that it is so expensive especially because of international purposes. These are great!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. An online book expo sounds so cool I’ll be looking into it!!! I like your story idea A LOT and I think albinoism (?) is a recessive gene so it could still work I think… it sound awesome!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha thanks! There will be more writing (a little bird told me the next assignment included writing the beginning of the story so you can expect more 🙂 )
      Will you be doing Armchair BEA?

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Ooohh I’m doing the type writer project too!! I haven’t submitted my blurb yet though because I am a mess and am behind and I’m trying to be waaaayyy to perfect about it. The struggles of a writer I suppose. I have been considering doing your blogger newbie project as well because I am, well, a blogger newbie 😛 Again, I am awful at organizing my time. I’ll get there at some point 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ooh awesome! I hope you made it work! Perfectionism is always a problem for me as well, you have no idea how many times I read my blog over and over again changing just a single word. If you decide to join, I’ll look forward to your submission! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I hope you enjoyed the readathon! Thank you so much for joining in Series Crackdown and don’t forget to keep your eyes peeled for the next installment in Summer 2017! 🙂

    P.S. I’m researching the typewriter project right now!

    Liked by 1 person

Let me hear your thoughts!

