wrapup

May Wrap-Up

May was an eventful month. I started drawing again, mostly hand lettering and illustrating, but I really enjoy it. I also continued writing, but not as much as I had hoped. As I’m writing this I have written about 7 thousand words this month, which is less than half that I had hoped to write. But that’s okay, as long as I am still making progress. I have also started writing a bit of poetry, which is something I’ve never done before, but more about that in a later post.

About my life, I’m trying to figure out what master’s I want to do, since I am almost starting my final semester of my bachelor’s degree. This has caused me to loose quite some sleep, but I think I can figure it out (I might need some help though). I also finally heard I can take my driver’s exam in the summer, so I’m super excited about that.

Blogging wise, I started a new project, which is not really working out yet as I’d hoped but it’ll be fine. I also got 500 followers (almost 600 now!), which is amazing, and I’m still thinking about how to celebrate. It is almost (sort of almost) my blog anniversary so maybe I’ll celebrate it then by doing a giveaway or such.

Anyway, we’re here to talk about books! This is what I read this month:

  • The Best of Adam Sharp by Graeme Simsion ★★★- This book was a little less fun as I thought it would be. I loved The Rosie Project and this book didn’t meet the same bar. Review here.
  • Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo ★★★★☆- I love this book, I’ve made a playlist, and have been listening to it literally all the time. I love the vibes and the characters and the worldbuilding and I can’t wait to start Crooked Kingdom!
  • None Of The Above by I. W. Gregorio ★★★★- I thought this book was so interesting and diverse, I really enjoyed and I think more people should read this book. Review here.
  • The Way Back Home by Allan Stratton ★ – Gosh, I hated this book so much, and I’m not going to rewrite again why, so check out my review if you want.
  • The Color Project by Sierra Abrams ★★★★☆ – This book is too cute for words, it’s so lovable but at the same time sad, you’ll have to read it! My review will be up this Saturday!
  • The Sun is Also A Star by Nicola Yoon ★★★★★- This book is so original and fun, I read it in about 24 hours and it lived up to all the expectations! I will definitely recommend. Review here.
  • Finding The Phoenix by Caitlin O’Connor ★★★- I have yet to write my review and right now I’m still a bit confused by what my opinion is. It was quite good but at the same time, I was completely oblivious to the worldbuilding, I just had no idea what was going on.
  • Sovereign by April Daniels ★★★☆ – I enjoyed the first book in this series and this book was pretty much equally fun. I loved the diversity! Review here.
  • We Are The Ants by Shaun David Hutchinson ★★★★★- I have been anticipating this book for ages and it completely lived up to my expectations! I loved this book, I loved the writing style and the characters (you might have noticed all the quotes in my instagram story… sorry not sorry).
  • The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater ★★★★- This is a reread, I read it years ago and I wanted to continue the series (which I am marathoning right now) and I loved it!!
  • The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater ★★★★- Same as above!

Only when I write these wrap-ups I always realize how much I actually read in a month. It’s ridiculous! Next month I’m planning on finishing The Raven Cycle for the Series Crackdown Readathon that’s hosted by The Book Moo. But for the rest… I don’t know yet? Maybe Crooked Kingdom? Maybe I’ll try to finally finish some of those series that have been on my tbr for ages: The Lorien Legacies (currently I am reading the 6th book, but I’ve yet to read the 7th and final book), Isla and The Happily Ever After, the Firebird series…

How was your month? Have you read (or are planning to read) any of these books?

20 thoughts on “May Wrap-Up

    1. I did have a great month! I really look forward to Crooked Kingdom! I hope you love The Color Project as well (my review is up now, you can read more of my thoughts if you like : ) )

      Liked by 1 person

    1. YASSS! I don’t know, I didn’t feel like something was off about We Are The Ants.. but maybe I like books that are a little off 😂
      I did! *bows*

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Great reading month! I’m in a bit of a reading slump at the moment,but that’s ok, as I have a lot going on. I’m doing an on line course, and thinking of doing a masters next year. I liked the Rosie Project too, but yeah sometimes when a first book is so good, the next ones don’t always live up to expectation. Good luck with your study planning.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Congrats on the great reading month, Lia! That’s a lot of books (to me) and by the looks of it, you enjoyed most of them which is always great! I’ve both read and loved The Raven Cycle and the Six Of Crows duology! I’m pretty sure I have We Are The Ants on my TBR at the moment and I’m definitely excited to get to it at some point – who knows when though.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Glad you enjoyed six of crows!! I think you’ll love crooked kingdom. I read it a few months ago and while it took me forever to finish I really enjoyed it. Leigh’s writing is just awesome!! I mean these characters are so good because they are kind of anti heroes and that’s really interesting to read about and God talking about this makes me want to reread 😀 Oh the raven cycle is a great series even though I have had my problems with it the way it ended in the last book is really satisfying. I hope you enjoy the raven king!

    Like

Let me hear your thoughts!

