blogger newbies

Newbie Bloggers: Julianna (@Blots of Ink) | Things All Bookworms Hate

Hello and welcome to this first edition of Newbie Bloggers, a project organized to introduce new bloggers to the community. Today, I’m excited to introduce to you: Julianna from Blots of Ink!


Who is Julianna?

Tell us something about yourself: Who Are You?: I am a book blogger. I love to read (obviously, haha), write, procrastinate in general, and Netflix. Honestly, probably 15% of my time is dedicated to reading, 10% is dedicated to imagining writing a story, %2 to actually writing a story, 20% to Netflix, and 53% to procrastinating on all of those things.
Obviously, I’m a super productive person.

What is your blog about and what are your plans with it?: My blog is about books! I review YA books, but I try not to post too many reviews on my blog (usually I post reviews of ARCS of my favorites), because… reviewing can get kind of boring. When I do review, though, I try to *spice* it up with GIFs and quotes.
I also sometimes post about my life (when it’s related to books)
But what I MAINLY post is discussion posts. I think discussion posts are so much more fun than reviews, and I get to blog about a larger variety of things.

I plan to keep on blogging and one of my main goals is to make my readers laugh and think about the topic I am discussing. I enjoy writing about relatable (but sometimes silly) topics, so I plan to keep on doing that for a while!

Why did you start blogging?: Well, I really, really enjoy talking to others about books. It’s so fun to communicate your in-depth feelings with others. Many of my friends don’t read as much/the same genres as I do, so I can’t really talk about that.

I recently discovered book blogging was a thing around a year ago, and I thought that this community was SO great. Eventually, I worked up to the courage of actually starting one 🙂


Julianna’s post: Things All Bookworms Hate

Or, more accurately, things I hate. Because I am totally an accurate representation of 96.57% of bookworms. Haha just kidding I made that up Approximate number, by the way.

Also, if you’re my friend, and you do this, chances are: you’re not my friend. Hahahahaha just kidding please stay I have no cats.

So… we bookworms are usually indoorsy (or outdoors! but mostly indoors. #representation of ALL bookworms) types of people, who will claw your eyes out politely ask you to leave because we are nice creatures* if you DISTURB our reading area OR their book OR their book merch. Who said that bookworms were gentle creatures? I did? I beg to differ. I have no idea what you’re talking about.

*Agh, they almost found out that we are secretly dinosaurs in human form. I mean, what?

Bothering Them When They’re Reading

This is basically one of THE worst things you can do to a reader. Like, I’m all busy flipping the pages and all that jazz, and you mess up the system? THE SYSTEM? THE PERFECT SYSTEM THAT I HAVE CREATED IN ORDER TO FLIP THE PAGE AS FAST AS I CAN TO PREVENT BETWEEN-PAGE DELAYS?

And you might be thinking, “But Julianna, it’s just… page flipping! It doesn’t even matter!”

But you’re not. Because if you were, I would probably spontaneously combust. Or maybe implode. I’m fine with either tbh. #diversity

But it’s actually funny. I was talking to my friend a little bit ago and we were talking about flipping pages because I noticed that she flipped pages the same way I did. How do you flip your pages?? (This might be a discussion topic later, who knows?)

Touching Their Books

One of my most dreaded horrors is… the page changing thing*. It’s a thing… where the page is changed… and my PLACE is lost!

Because 1) I’m reading why are you talking and 2) I JUST LOST WHERE I WAS and 3) I AM NOW A PILE OF ASH ON THE FLOOR AND IT’S ALL YOUR FAULT.

See, I don’t use bookmarks. I just rely on my super cool intelligence memory thing that exists in my brain to memorize the page number.* Then I usually tell 7 other random strangers (these consist of my sister, my sister, and five blades of grass) so that in case I forget it, I can ask one of them.

But, why don’t I use bookmarks, you ask (because you are oh-so curious about me since I am an interesting potato)? Well… I ALWAYS lose them. It’s almost a given. I wonder if there’s a wormhole in my room that just sends them to another universe where they

But the non-bookworms ask, “But, why can’t you just dog-ear the pages?” And to that, pretty much 88.34% of the bookworm population is gawking at them. Or you. Who knows?

*The Official Scientific Name, in case you were wondering. **

**Because I am totally a professional blogger that finds the official scientific name for everything. Why would you think otherwise?

Being an Anti-Fan

I know, I know, people can have differing opinions. However, one of the things you should NOT do is be rude about it. For example, if your bookish friend is fangirl/boy-ing about a book, DO NOT say “But that book sounds stupid.” Or any variations of that. You CAN say “Oh, I didn’t like [insert reason] about this book.”

You know, the kind, polite, and civilized (something I totally am) way to say this.

This pretty much applies to life, actually. As you can see, I am totally helpful and you should keep on reading my posts. This is a Julianna pro tip and you should just accept it as one of the rules of life.

Saying ANY of These Phrases

Yes, there are memes.

Yes, there are other things out there that describe this. You probably know what it is.

It’s saying any of these.

  • “It’s JUST a BOOK”
  • “Reading is stupid”
  • “Why don’t you pay attention to real life?”

Okay so the last two are more mean than phrases a FRIEND would say, but that’s the gist. DO NOT say any of these to your friends if they’re bookworms. Because then you probably won’t have anymore friends that are bookworms.

And I get it, some people don’t like reading. The rest of us just stare at you confusedly (Is that a word? I hope that’s a word). But don’t say that reading is stupid.

Stopping Them From Reading

When I want to read a book while walking, LET ME. When I want to read a book in the bath, LET ME.

Unless I’m about to die or something horrid like that. Then STOP ME PLEASE.

Is it really weird, though, to bring several books with you to school or other places? I currently have like five books in my locker which I’ve finished reading but I’m too lazy to bring them home.

And a lot of the time I’m reading while walking in the halls and people are like “Stahp reading” but really I’ve mastered~ the art of reading while walking and THEY DON’T UNDERSTAND. I can now sufficiently read for about 5 minutes before I walk into a pole. ##skill #soskillfuliusedtwohashtags

So… how many of these do you relate to? Are there any other things that the bookwormish side of you hates?


Lia: I hope you loved Julianna’s post as much as I did and don’t be afraid to go follow her blog, twitter and/or instagram! Thank you again, Julianna, for participating! If you (yes you reading this), would like to participate as well, check out this post.

The project will be bi-weekly and on Sundays. If I get a lot more submissions I might change that. If you want to participate but don’t have a post yet, you can also just send me a message then I’ll give you a date, so you can work on your post and send it to me before that date.

29 thoughts on “Newbie Bloggers: Julianna (@Blots of Ink) | Things All Bookworms Hate

  1. OH NO PEOPLE TOUCHING YOUR BOOKS ON A WHIM IS TERRIBLE. Then I end up cradling my book and checking for any potential damage. I admit, I actually used to dog ear pages, but now I have a plethora of bookmarks lying around my house that I use, or if I don’t have one handy I’ll just use a random object haha. I’m off to follow your blog now, thanks! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. RELATABLE. And gooooosh, finding your place in the book is sooo haaard. Like I forget the page number. Or I lose the bookmark. (NEVER DOGEARING THOUGH NEVER EVER EVER.) But I have this one business card I found in a book and it’s PERFECT.

    AND YES HOW DARE YOU STOP ME FROM READING/BOTHER ME WHILE I’M READING. Like how incredibly #rude are you to interrupt my paradise??? (Unless the book sucks but still.) Also I have been known to cross the street while reading a book. Excuse me but 1) I use my peripheral vision to make sure there are no cars, and 2) I’m just so great that I KNOW when there’s a car coming. Obviously I won’t stop reading to save my life.

    Lovely post, Ju, and thanks so much for having this feature on your blog, Lia!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha I know right? Oh, the woes of re-reading and skipping parts! I always try to remember the page number and I like to think that my memory has gotten better?? And I LOVE THE PERFECT BOOKMARKS. I usually keep it for like, a week before I lose it #goal

      HAHA ITS SO ANNOYING. And ugh sometimes I’m like screaming and then the person next to me is just like “Why don’t you just not read the book” and I’m like sHhhhhh
      And YEAH why are people so worried about us dying?? WE HAVE THE SKILLS. And anyways we’ve already died from all the feels so whatever.

      Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I feel like people might take this post as JOKE? And that would just be dangerous because this is all so true. PEOPLE (yes humans) try and make conversation with me WHILST i’m reading, please explain this human logic? IT’S NOT LOGIC? Firstly, hardbacks are great weapons, and I know how to fight (like UHM fantasy books teach me all) so I need to be taken seriously.

    DOG-EARING…I do it But only on borrowed books (which just makes me seem like a bad person) but yeah I DO IT because bookmarks are always just floating away, and sorry, I can’t fly yet so this is unfair and gosh i’m sorry for dog-earing but i’s not my fault AND DON’T TOUCH MY BOOKS!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m really happy you like it! I thought it was really hard to get started as a newbie and helping out new bloggers is a lot of fun to do 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Talking to me when I’m reading is like angering a dragon. They dare to face my wrath. I will give them some serious glare until they stop. Just like,,, why tho?? HOW DARE THEEEEEEEE!! Why disturb my reading peace?? I’m in the zoneeee here people! I will chuck… (idek what, ANYTHING BUT my precious books) something at them so damn hard that they learn their lesson. Interrupting reading is just a no! no logic, no brain, no good outcomes!! 😉 😉 🙂

    Im against the dog-earing only because it creases the pages and then I end up using ANYTHING as a book mark. Literally ANYTHING. I think I used a make up brush once (new!! don’t worry), sometimes even my phone!

    No one touches my books and keeps their hands.

    Lu xx

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Just about every one of those resonates with me. I moved away from home and got a cat for company literally because of the constant distractions from reading. No matter where I go, I always carry a book with me and if I open it and begin reading that means “BACK OFF I’M NO LONGER HERE!!!”.
    OMG. “Don’t touch my pretty new books with your greasy chip fingers” (haha kidding, NOT). I admit, I tend to dirty my books and a little piece of my heart tends to break when I do, but if someone ELSE dares touch, damage, walk away with my beautiful novel? Oh may the shwartz protect them!

    Like

  6. *raises hand and closes eyes* AMEN TO ALL OF THIS.
    I don’t use bookmarks as well. (Mainly because I ALWAYS lose them, I just gave up on buying new ones hahaha*) Instead, I’ll mutter the page number the entire time I’m away from the book. It takes one person interacting with me and I’d forget the number stat. That’s when I’d combust.
    *Unless they’re AESTHETIC AF. I’m weak to pretty book covers and bookmarks.
    Great post!
    And can I just say, Lia, that THIS IS SUCH AN AMAZING IDEA??? I look forward to the newbie bloggers you’ll feature here! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Let me hear your thoughts!

