bookish playlist · music

Bookish Playlist: The Raven Cycle

A month ago I created a playlist for Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo and I loved it so much, I decided to make more bookish playlists. If you want to listen to the Six of Crows playlist, check it out on spotify here.

This will become a monthly feature here, and each month I’ll make a playlist related to a book or series I read. My music tasteΒ varies from folk, to indie, to rock, to a bit of punk so that is mainly what you can expect. I will post my playlist here and do a shout-out to some songs on it, and why I think they fit the book(s).

This month I’ll share my playlist for the Raven Cycle series by Maggie Stiefvater. If you don’t know the series, it’s a paranormal series about four boys (Gansey, Adam, Noah and Ronan) and a girl (Blue) who are on the search for Glendower, a Welsh king that disappeared centuries ago. The series is magical and mysterious, with complex and interesting characters and I would definitely recommend it if you haven’t read it already.

The Songs

The Mute by Radical Face

And through them days I was a ghost atop my chair
My dad considered me a cross he had to bear
And in my head I’d sing apologies and stare
As my mom would hang the clothes across the line
And she would try to keep the empty from her eyes

If this song doesn’t scream Adam I don’t know what does. It also has hints towards Noah (no spoilers :P). This song was actually the one that started this playlist. I was listening to it and I could just notΒ not make it a playlist.

Smoke and Mirrors by Imagine Dragons

All I believe
Is it a dream
That comes crashing down on me
All that I hope
Is it just smoke and mirrors
I want to believe ohh oh oh oh oh oh oh
But all that I hope
Is it just smoke and mirrors

This both refers to the dream of finding Glendower and whether that is just a myth. It also refers to Ronan and his dreamworld and how the real world seems to collapse when he finds out what his father did (again, I’m trying not to spoil you but it’s hard).

Spirits by The Strumbellas

I’ve been looking at the stars tonight
And I think oh, how I miss that bright sun
I’ll be a dreamer ’til the day I die
But they say oh, how the good die young
But we’re all strange
And maybe we don’t wanna change

Again, this song refers to Ronan, but also to the boys and Blue. They are all strange people, and have a strange relationship with death, so I think this song refers to their troubles.

Let it Go by The Neighborhood

I’m from a little city with expensive taste,
Where the cars don’t run until the engine breaks.
Wasn’t spending pennies on a mess of things,
But invested in mess with this recipe.
Couldn’t quite see what the future held
And as days went by it would tell itself.
Let it struggle just a little bit more,
Let it struggle just a little bit more.

Cars and money take quite an important role in this book. Gansey and Ronan are rich, the others not at all. That contrast causes some struggles throughout the book. The song also refers to Blue’s inability to see the future, her entire family is psychic, but Blue isn’t.

The Playlist

The song consists of 25 songs and you can listen to it below!

 

What did you think of this playlist? Did you like it? Do you have songs you think that should be added? Do you like this feature? Any books you’d like to see a playlist of next?

27 thoughts on “Bookish Playlist: The Raven Cycle

  1. I just love your playlist idea! I actually have spotify. Under which name can I find the Raven Circle Playlist? Or what is your account name? I’d love to follow you there πŸ™‚ My name is vegetasno1 πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m in love with your Six of Crows playlist! I LOVE LOVE LOVE that you put Dorothy on there. “Gun in My Hand” is one of my absolute favorites. A perfect choice! And of course I’m a fan of Imagine Dragons, Fall Out Boy, and Paramore. Always fantastic choices. I literally jumped up and down seeing “Jungle” by the X Ambassadors and Jamie n Commons. “Hostage” by Nothing But Thieves, too! The only song I’d add is “Ain’t No Rest for the Wicked” by Cage the Elephant πŸ˜€ Love your playlist for The Raven Cycle, too! I’m not familiar with a lot of the artists, but I love finding something new. Cool post! Thanks for sharing πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha I’m happy you liked it so much, it seems it’s right up your lane! I hope you discover some new music on there you love as well πŸ™‚
      You’re welcome!

      Liked by 1 person

Let me hear your thoughts!

