discussion

Discussion: To Write or Not To Write | Rambling about writing and Camp NaNoWriMo

I only started writing “seriously” in (or after?) November of this year, when the bookish community suddenly was all about NaNoWriMo and I, silly girl as I was (just kidding I’m smart), started low-key panicking, because should I participate??? I hadn’t written much before that and with a very busy month I decided not to, but I loved how the entire community was suddenly all about creating new stories instead of only reading them.

In December I hosted a project I called Short Story Society in which I, and with me several other bloggers, wrote a short story each week. As to kind of make up for the missed NaNoWriMo and to get the writer juices flowing. Though it wasn’t a huge success (my organization skills definitely were not on-point and many people only participated for part of it), I really liked it.

It got me excited for writing and that is what Camp NaNoWriMo also did for me back in April. If you don’t know what it is, it is a smaller version of NaNoWriMo (there is no “real” camp, Β it’s just online). You can set your own goal, in words or hours, and you have cabins to cheer each other on. In April I wrote 30 thousand words, which is more than I have ever written on a single project.

July is coming up, and in July there is another Camp, and only yesterday I’ve decided to participate. And I have no plan, no outline, nothing. Just a story idea. *help*

I will be writing the story I was talking about yesterday, with the magic and awesomeness and I CAN’T WAIT πŸ™‚

Why participate in Camp NaNoWriMo?

  • Because you love writing. This is obviously the most important reason, if you don’t like writing this is definitely not for you.
  • Because NaNoWriMo is just a bit over your head. A little. Or a lot. It’s really nice because in Camp you can set your own goals, and if that goal is to write 3 poems of 20 words each, go for it. You can also set it at 100k if you want to die, it’s all up to you.
  • Community and support! There is, of course, your cabin, you can either make one or get sorted in one. You can chat with your cabin mates and help each other out. It is fun and it’ll help you get more motivated (which is my next point).
  • It helps you get more motivated to write. I can set a daily goal for me any day of the year but it doesn’t seem to work for me. Sometimes I don’t write for days or weeks, other times I write a lot on one day. Having a consistent writing schedule is hard and having Camp really helps to keep me accountable.
  • It makes you excited to write. Aren’t you already excited??? I AM.
  • It is fun and you meet new people. There are also virtual write-ins on youtube which are lots of fun to participate in, and there are writing sprints and well, there is an entire community of writers out there and they are all awesome.

Why not participate?

  • Pressure!
  • Expectations!
  • Life!
  • Stress!
  • Okay, but seriously. There is only the stress that you give yourself. You don’tΒ have to write, you don’t have to outline, you don’t have to prepare. But it’s useful and quite stressful sometimes.

I am trying to avoid the stress by putting my word count goal not very high. I have set it to 15k, which is half of April’s goal, but I am also away for almost half of July so I think it’s fair. I calculated a daily word count of about 750 words, which is very doable. I decided to not rush too much with this project, because I feel like that will make the end result 10 times better.

Are you participating this July? Have you participated before? Do you write or not, and why?

43 thoughts on “Discussion: To Write or Not To Write | Rambling about writing and Camp NaNoWriMo

  1. I feel so much more confident in my writing and my book that I’m writing this time around. I’m happy you decided to participate again!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I participated in nanowrimo for the first time in November and it was so amazing but I do feel like I missed out on the community part a lot. I didn’t really join in on the forum much and feel like I missed out. The cabins idea of the camps sound really great. Good luck with the camp!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I didn’t do much with the forum either, I didn’t even know it existed at the start. I do love the cabins though! Thank you!

      Like

  3. I’ve never participated in the camp part of this, but I did try out NaNoWriMo a few times. I only ever got through a couple weeks before I’d get completely sidetracked with school stuff, haha. Maybe this year I’ll be able to do better now that I’m done with college. Besides, I’ve had a writing itch for a while now c:

    Liked by 1 person

    1. For me November is also quite a busy month, this April I was lucky to have a few weeks off from school, so I could join in, and I basically have summer vacation already so July is also not a problem, but November… I never tried it but I’m not sure I will. But who knows! I hope that next time you participate you won’t sidetrack πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I mean, I’m doing a full rewrite of my manuscript this summer so technically I’m participating. But I’m trying to get it rewritten before school starts at the end of July.
    And I totally write, I write for myself, and I write for school. I’m getting my MFA in Writing for Children and YA. The summer and winter breaks are when I do the most writing because I’m not required to write and/or read anything else. It helps me get a lot of work done when all I have to do it write.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s great! Good luck on your MFA! I also love summer and winter breaks for writing, I am always busy with anything and having a break makes it able to prioritize writing more, which is something I always struggle with.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Uhmm it depends, how much do you write per day? Per hour? I am aiming at 15k in about 20 days, which is not that much but 100k in 30 days is quite crazy, but if you can do it?? I wouldn’t set it too high though, it will probably demotivate to not reach your goal, I think?

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I REALLY want to participate in Camp NaNo, but I am AWFUL at committing to a story idea and therefore I have no outline and NOTHING AND OMG. I really want to though. I need to get back into writing because it’s been a loooong time since I have written seriously ugggghhh.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Committing to a story idea is hard! You can try to write bits and pieces of them and see which one you like best?? I don’t have an outline either (yet) I really need to get onto that. But if you want to get back into writing, Camp is definitely a good way!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. True! But luckily you don’t “need” nano to write πŸ˜‰ It’s hard to motivate myself to write without it though so I get what you mean. Good luck!

      Like

  6. I’m very, very new to this, but I’ve been thinking ( and this post has definitely helped me ) about joining! I mean, I have no clue how and I’m probably gonna suck but, you never know unless you try! I’m excited yet nervous…how do you join the camp? And will everyone be easy on newbie writers like me?πŸ˜•πŸ˜•

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You should definitely try it out, if it doesn’t work it doesn’t work! But like you said, if you never try, you’ll never know! You can go to the campnanowrimo website and sign up, you then add a project and when you’re done with that you can either start your own cabin or join someone elses. You can also let them assign you a cabin. Newbie or not, I’m sure that whoever you end up with in a cabin, they’ll be supportive! Everybody got to start somewhere! If you want you can join my cabin (it’s not my cabin, but I’m in it)?

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I did my first NaNo in November 2013 and was able to write 50k words. I’ve tried since but life gets in the way. I am committed to start and finish a book this year with no specific word goals. I never really have an outline going into it, I just write and go with the flow.
    NaNo is a great way of finding and developing a talent you never knew you had and is well worth experiencing more than once.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s too bad! It’s hard to find time to write when you’re life is so busy :/
      I’m also mostly going with the flow with my writing, I think I’m going to do some kind of outline but it will probably be minimal.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. I’ve never participated in Camp NaNo before but I’ve always heard people talking about it! One of my friends convinced me to participate this year but since I’m a newbie writer my goals will be prettttty low πŸ˜‚ I’m also writing exams and papers throughout July so this will be extra stressful but I’ll try not to pressure myself too much!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m happy you enjoyed it! I will be away (with little to no internet) for a while in July as well but I decided to participate anyway for the first part of July. Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

Let me hear your thoughts!

